Skip to content

Open Thread 40

January 22, 2010

21 Comments
  1. January 22, 2010 7:25 pm

    Take back the soap!

  2. DarthVelma permalink
    January 22, 2010 7:47 pm

    Ohhhhh…that is absolutely gorgeous. Makes me smile just to look at it.

  3. Level Best permalink
    January 22, 2010 7:53 pm

    I have been able to watch “Return to Cranford” this week. Kitty was so right about the wonderful older women in this miniseries! I am looking forward to finding the original “Cranford” series. Judy Dench et al are marvelous.

    • January 22, 2010 9:03 pm

      I think the first Cranford was more intense and ran smoother than Return to Cranford. But, I still enjoyed Return to Cranford. Do you know what I think was my favorite part? When they all got on the train for the very first time, scared to death, thinking that the speed (30 MPH) was going to launch them into space, and the found out they could handle it after all. LOVE IT! And when the women were trying to snub Lady Glenmire because Mrs. Forester told them they were not good enough to entertain her.

      How pitiful Lady Ludlow was waiting for her ungrateful son! Then, he and his motion sickness snake lover tried to cheat little Harry. The fierce Miss Golinda was not having any of that!

      And that no good brother. I am glad he was killed. He was a self-entitled prick.

  4. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:43 pm

    My daughter always gives me beautiful fragrant soap made from native Australian flora.

    One excellent thing about being a little old lady is everybody gives you soap.

    😀

  5. January 22, 2010 10:22 pm

    Had a doctors appt today. We had to skip all the womens health patrs because she was being rushed. Not to mention she was over 20 mins late and still had 2 rush w/me. I hate that Dr. Don’t have time to care for their patients!

    Nice soap. Totally fitting all things considered.

    • January 23, 2010 6:42 am

      I hate going to the doctor. I avoid it like the plague. I have only very, very rarely received care that was respectful of my own knowledge about my body, and I’ve so often been treated like a hypochondriac (to the point where my gallbladder disease progressed to liver disease and jaundice before anyone ever took an ultrasound of my gallbladder, despite the fact that I’d been telling doctors for years that I thought something was wrong with my gallbladder), that I just don’t bother. And I hate being asked if I’m *sure* I’m not pregnant, and then being tested for it anyway as if I’m a compulsive liar.

      I hope things are looking up for you and your family/friends affected by the earthquake.

  6. January 23, 2010 7:50 pm

    Pecans are painfully under-rated.

    Lobster is over-rated. Way over-rated.

  7. theunmarrieddaughter permalink
    January 23, 2010 8:10 pm

    Netflix has Cranford. If you are looking for the original one.

  8. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 24, 2010 2:43 am

    Hi Kitty,

    So is crab. (Over rated, I mean.)

    I really like that fake crab, which is actually Alaskan pollock. Cheap as chips when you get it from the refrigerated deli section of the supermarket (where you can buy sliced cheese, meat, etc by the slice or ounce). It’s solid protein, tasty, an excellent snack. I used to get a dollars worth when I was starving to death out in public in Canada.

    I’ve spent hours shelling cooked blue crab here in Australia. Way too much shell, and the flesh was no better than the pollock. You can set a crab pot here on the river, and pull up a bucket full of them next morning – but why bother?

  9. January 25, 2010 8:23 pm

    We may have babies today. The poor child is so miserable. And her horrible mama is so far away.

  10. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 25, 2010 9:07 pm

    Ah! Kitty, I’ve been wondering. 🙂

  11. January 25, 2010 11:31 pm

    We have babies!

  12. January 26, 2010 1:22 am

    Well! How is your daughter???

    • January 26, 2010 1:38 am

      Haven’t heard from her. I left a few messages. I got a text telling me about the babies (with a picture). I am sure she will be out of it for another few hours now. As far as I know they were going to have to do a C-section, so, until I know different, I am assuming she is resting from a C-section. Neither baby had turned.

  13. January 26, 2010 1:21 pm

    I’m glad it sounds like everybody’s okay then. Am also relieved for your daughter that the whole pregnancy phase is over, and will keep a good thought for her that whatever the heck this new phase entails, she will be okay through it also.

  14. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 27, 2010 6:07 am

    OK, here’s a little off-the-beaten track commentary on getting old. I was getting mentally fatigued at seeing the same images loading again and again at the websites I regularly check (NYT, SMH and the Toronto Star), so on an impulse I set my FF options to not load images.

    Talk about mental health !!!

    The older you get the more intolerant you get about seeing the same old shit over and over.

    “Just the facts, ma’am” (from the 1950’s TV series Dragnet.)

  15. January 28, 2010 5:15 pm

    Rape culture on Facebook:

    Heather B: While stalking people with the sky cam: “What do we do if they start raping her?”
    …. “I don’t know… roll a tape?”
    Yesterday at 20:08 · View feedback (1)Hide feedback (1) · Report
    PiDicus Rex
    PiDicus Rex
    Pixelate, Dial 911, roll crawl with the words ‘Shocking’ and ‘exclusive’, use IFB to tell the reporter to throw to a graphic with the details of a rape counseling service for viewers with past experiences,…

    And after the chopper has followed the offender back home, you can give that address and a baseball bat to the victims father with a clear conscious.
    4 hours ago · Report

  16. January 29, 2010 5:05 pm

    Guilty, guilty, and guilty for the abortion doctor murderer.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 29, 2010 6:32 pm

      Now if only they could give him the death penalty.

    • January 29, 2010 7:09 pm

      He got up there on his own defense like he just knew the whole world will side with him. The sad thing is, I would not have been surprised if the jury did side with him. How many holy rollers have come out of the closet to talk shit about my daughter not being married has really brought me back to the land of bible thumpers.

Comments are closed.

