Skip to content

Open Thread 44

March 12, 2010

26 Comments
  1. March 12, 2010 3:53 pm

    It’s amazing the number of MRAs/trannies who link to this blog, only to turn around and attempt to leave comment after comment accusing us of attention-seeking.

    In other news, got my hair cut today. It’s so nice to feel the breeze on my scalp again. I really shouldn’t go so long between haircuts.

    • March 12, 2010 4:46 pm

      When I look at our stats and see how 99% of incoming links come from MRAs and Tyrannies (both males), I wonder where are the so-called feminists. Evidently, so called feminists are more than happy to let us deal with all the men so they can go on about their business discussing how hard it is to resist shaving their legs and looking pretty.

      I know that head does feel good. I wish I had the money and the discipline to maintain an every six weeks schedule to have my hair cut.

    • berryblade permalink
      March 13, 2010 5:12 am

      haha yeah, I haven’t had a hair cut in well over a year, it’s gotten really long and i’ve been thinking about getting it all cut off again. silly question – how short do you have it?

    • March 13, 2010 5:28 am

      I’m not sure which of us you are asking, but mine is right below my ears and Margie’s is about 1/4 inch long. Unless of course she thinks it is shorter/longer than my opinion.

    • berryblade permalink
      March 14, 2010 6:13 am

      I was asking both. Hmm, I think I might have to put aside some money to go see a barber I think.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      March 14, 2010 8:55 pm

      Just make sure you are firm about it. I’ve never been to a barber, just unisex salons, and I always have to push to get it as short as I want. Because god forbid I “look like a man.”

    • March 15, 2010 4:52 am

      That’s not a problem at the barber. You tell them what number guard you want them to use for the clippers, and away they go. I get number 1.

      I’ve only ever had one barber turn me down, saying he didn’t cut women’s hair, and I’ve been going to barbers for years.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      March 15, 2010 6:06 am

      Thanks for the tip.

  2. March 12, 2010 4:48 pm

    In other news, the remaining pork chops were forgotten in the oven last night, so I will have to look for something else for lunch today. Those chops were good too. Damn.

  3. March 12, 2010 4:59 pm

    And here is what I’ve been doing.

    I think it deserves its own thread, but I’m far too disgusted.

    Waiting for my lawsuit:

    http://physioprof.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/militant-atheism/

    Fast-forward to the fun twist-ending!

    • March 12, 2010 5:04 pm

      Daisy, I linked to this in the last open thread. And, I don’t want to call a certain blogger out, because I like her writing and for the most part she “gets” sexism. But I have to wonder if she did not feel a need (perhaps unconsciously) to cuddle the rape apologist exactly when he was being revealed as a rape apologist and not the male feminist he claims to be (and gets points for being), because I find it more than coincidental that she directed an innocent thread his way. That is how some women operate. They see a favorite man is in trouble, aware that she is too much of a feminist to go in and defend him openly and instead back doors him some support by throwing a positive bone in his direction. Of course, that bone is always totally another topic whereas she can cover her conscience if she is confronted about supporting a rape apologist. Timing is key.

    • March 12, 2010 5:54 pm

      The rapist(-lover) in question just attempted to leave a comment stating that he’s never called himself a male feminist. Well, thank goodness.

    • March 12, 2010 6:33 pm

      I love how rape apologists become “literal” and “technically speaking” when they are exposed. If he has never put his title in black and white, he sure in hell has posed as such. Being male and making yourself a permanent fixture at so-called feminist spaces is implying either you are a male feminist or at the very least, it is conveying that you are on board with the feminist movement.

      His privilege reeks. He openly scolds a female for daring to call out another rape apologist on his blog and now he is essentially bragging about parking his entitled ass at feminist spaces without being concern about feminism. So the only logical conclusion must be that he enjoys wielding his male privilege about. Asshole.

    • March 12, 2010 8:37 pm

      I love that you’re going to get sued, Daisy, for defaming that jackass’ good name (!) after he sullied his own fucked up self on the thread in question. Has nothing good or bad to say about that cult – moved on with his life, no time to even have a critical or negative thought about rapey cults, much less simply say out loud “yeah that was wrong for that cult dude to rape women.” Costs males not one fucking thing to even just refrain from supporting rapists, let alone to condemn them. He went out of his way to make the point that he did not and would not disapprove of the rapes he is well aware of. That’s quite different than being an uninvolved, innocent party.

  4. JamiGumi permalink
    March 12, 2010 6:36 pm

    “Communism does not equal atheism. Nice try bigot,just another reason why all bigoted feminists should be given to the saudis to teach some manners. See how you like it in a real patriarchy.”

    This is my favorite little post from that thread, I didn’t’ see any of the male “allies” object to that remark, and I’m not surprised either.

    • March 12, 2010 6:39 pm

      Men love to resort to misogyny and violence when a female has the nerve to speak up. And brother-man is co-signing the behavior all the way.

    • pseudoadrienne permalink
      March 12, 2010 8:43 pm

      And yet they have the nerve to get pissy when you (or any woman) accuse a man for being a rapist or violent towards women. Well if it walks like a violent, rapist-duck, asshole! That’s [misogynist]men’s bizarro-world logic for you, as they don’t like a mirror being held in front of them, because that could potentially scare off gullible women to be their enablers/apologists.

  5. March 12, 2010 7:45 pm

    He has blogged at Feministe as a guest blogger, and I thought you had to be a self-identified feminist before they even asked you?

    Shows what I know.

    Jami, isn’t it amazing? Took my breath away, but no one else seemed to notice.

    I still vote for “the women wanted to fuck me and were smokin hawt” as the best line in the thread. Talk about out-to-fucking-lunch.

  6. March 14, 2010 12:21 am

    We lose an hour tonight. DSL.

    Have you noticed an increase in the misuse of the word loose for lose on the net in the last few years?

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      March 14, 2010 1:06 am

      Constantly. It’s enough to make me lose the plot.

      The internet plays fast and loose with English usage.

      It was wonderful to have once had a delightfully precise language.

      I blame the digitization of everything.

    • berryblade permalink
      March 14, 2010 6:15 am

      total distaste for that confusion. so many people my age don’t know the difference between “their” and “they’re” and “your” and “you’re”

      I didn’t think that learning contractions were that difficult?

  7. atheistwoman permalink
    March 14, 2010 8:51 pm

    Lets versus let’s (as in, she lets me borrow her book versus Hey, let’s go to the movies). Spell-check doesn’t pick up on it, therefore no one does. But I am no grammar queen, far from it.

    • March 16, 2010 11:43 pm

      “Yes, ladies we are that stupid. We have always been that stupid. And we will always be that stupid. We’ll throw away the world for five minutes in the back of station wagon with the village bicycle. Why you ask? Because sexual accomplishment/satisfaction overrides logic in a man’s brain. And why else? Because we’re stupid.

      This magazine piece is just to embarrass “Johnny.” Why else would she do it? Expressing on a public medium all of the their personal conversations and details. I don’t think for second JE loves this woman. I think he thought he was playing her good. That’s when you know you’ve lost the game. When you begin to think you’re winning. Any man reading this here’s some advice. Don’t have an affair but you won’t listen so I’ll give you some more advice. Don’t ever have an affair with a whore. She has no shame and no dignity. She doesn’t care who finds out. You’ll lose every time. Ask “Johnny” and Tiger.”

      ugh…

    • March 17, 2010 11:29 am

      Why do you expose us all to this ish? lol This is disgusting!

Comments are closed.

