Skip to content

Open Thread 45

March 19, 2010

22 Comments
  1. March 19, 2010 4:33 pm

    I woke up in a panic this morning around 4:00 am. Something or someone needed me, needed to be saved. I say something because my body and senses reacted similar to how my body and thoughts responded when I was a little girl and my beloved cat would have kittens in the middle of the night. She was a horrid mother, most of the time, and usually did not want her litter. If it had not been for my intervention, her kittens would have died. Usually I would find the newborns and then hold her down while the kittens nursed. If it were up to her, they would have died immediately after birth. It was my foolishness, because normally, most of them did not make it to adulthood anyway. Perhaps she was smarter about this than my eight-year-old self was. Although I knew there was not food enough, I had too much hope still to believe that enough food would not eventually be provided. When I remembered that we had no cat, I thought of my grandchildren. Recently I did help care for them and would respond to their cries in the middle of the night. After I realized that I was no longer in their world, I thought about how people on the news say they kept hearing a faint noise like a cry after they have found a baby abandoned in a dumpster or outside in the bushes. All of these thoughts and memories with their senses came and left me in a matter of seconds. A mind works like that in a state of half consciousness and half sleep. However, I was already on my feet and searching before I came to my clear senses. It was a ping. The sound was a ping, a faint and dying ping. You know how it works. You can hear it until you move. Then it seems to stop. Or right when you think you will not hear it any more, you move, the cries happens again and the noise from your motion keeps you from detecting what direction the sound is coming from. I was determined to stand still regardless of how long it took to hear the ping again. By this time I was wide awake and knew it had to be one of our various cell phones, cordless house phones, laptops, cameras, or whatever electronic that makes a last minute ping to convey its death. I headed back to bed but I was stopped by foresight. I knew if whatever died, I would no longer have the capable to call or page in order to find it, so, I waited. And waited. Then it ping’d again and I was able to find it. It was my daughter’s cell phone. It was at the foot of her bed lying in a little chair. I just couldn’t let it die, alone, in the middle of the night. I made the dreadful trip downstairs and all over the place looking for the charger. Which I did not find. I ended up tossing the phone in my bag so I could charge it in the car when I left for the morning.

  2. March 19, 2010 6:38 pm

    The reference to cats and being up and out of bed before you’re even fully awake made me think of my old apartment. There was a small colony of feral-ish (didn’t have homes but some were friendly with humans) cats that hung around the building. Sidebar – happy note, the landlady was able in one way or another to eventually get them all fixed and adopted, just in case anyone was about to feel sad about a bunch of stray cats (which I sometimes do).

    Anyhoo, they used to either fight and/or mate right outside – letting out blood curdling screams that would wake me up in a state of panic. I know that when cats are actually wrestling around in physical contact fights, they aren’t making a lot of noise usually, and the screaming is to try and scare each other the fuck away from lunging before the fight actually starts. But it still just sounded like bad things happening to cats, and I would be at my front window, yanking aside the shades, before I even knew I was awake, trying to see if someone was hurting them so I could open my door and fuck ’em up.

    There were never any cats in view when I’d do this, and it wouldn’t be until I was back in bed, fully and tormentedly awake, that I would remember I slept naked and had just acted like a flasher at my window.

    • March 19, 2010 6:54 pm

      That is so funny Joan. I love reading about that in-between state. I noticed Thomas Hardy was stuck on it as well. In several of his novels his characters would be suspended in swoon/not swoon, blind/not blind, aware/not aware. It is a type of moving-paralysis, I would venture.

    • soulsis permalink
      March 19, 2010 9:36 pm

      This is funny as all hell Joan! Lol wow.

      And Kitty I smiled for the same reason. The innocent way your 8 y/o self cared for those kittens, the way the mother knew they wouldn’t make it and left em for nature to take its course…. maybe I’m being corny. Lol and yeah how hilarious that you cared for a phone that way?

  3. March 20, 2010 3:06 am

    I’ve always loved that wild female animals were free enough not to be mothers, even if they weren’t free enough to avoid pregnancy. I love that so many herd animals evict their male offspring at a certain point, separatists in a way.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      March 20, 2010 10:02 am

      YESSSSS!! 😀

  4. March 20, 2010 5:37 am

    You know how there are times when you have to tell a friend or loved one that you’d rather not be a party to certain activities/relationships they engage in? I mean, you’re aware that they’re involved in these things, and you know they have no intention of ever bringing an end to it, so you just have to say, “Hey, do what you will, but I don’t want any part of it – don’t want to hear about it, don’t want to see it.”? Maybe I’m the only one who does that. But anyway, what I really, really hate is when these people insist on bringing you into it anyway. They invite you over when they’re doing whatever it is you’ve told them upsets you. They leave evidence of their activities/relationships in plain view, etc.

    And then, if you react the way you always have, these people either get angry with you, or start in on another justification spiel, telling you why you should condone their actions/relationships and why you’re being unreasonable. That shit really burns me up.

    Oh, and I also hate my neighbors’ sons. They are fucking miscreants.

    • March 20, 2010 3:59 pm

      Margie I get where you’re coming from. It is difficult to hear people complain again and again about shit they know is wrong. I used to get so pissed off till I realized I am guilty at times of the same. Sometimes people just want to vent, but hell consider who you’re venting to? You letting off a lil steam shouldn’t come at a cost to those you care about. It’s something I’m learning to this day.

    • March 21, 2010 12:28 am

      Like someone going on about a stupid wedding? I think weddings are the dumbest way to waste money.

    • March 21, 2010 1:17 am

      My sister’s getting married this year. I’m not even sure I’ll make it to the nuptials, the details of which she has been gracious enough not to pester me with. God, I hate weddings. A waste of money. And just a waste.

    • March 21, 2010 9:25 am

      Agreed.

  5. March 22, 2010 10:02 am

    I’m really sick at the moment with a throat infection. It’s bad, I can’t yell or be my usual obnoxious self 😦

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      March 22, 2010 12:43 pm

      In the olden days, the doctor told us to gargle with salt water. It soothes the soreness *and* salt water is an anti-infective agent.

      And of course here’s a copy / paste from the internet:

      Gargle with warm saltwater. You don’t have to live near the sea for this. All you have to do is mix one-half teaspoon of salt to every cup of warm water, mix, and gargle as often as it is comfortable. Gargling with salt water reduces inflammation and pain.

      Say “Ahhhhhh” ….

    • March 22, 2010 1:51 pm

      aw danke mary! i’ve been gargling with salt water like a fiend and drinking lots of chamomile tea. turns out i need anti biotics, but doing the salt gargle certainly eases the pain.

      maybe this will be the kick i need to quit smoking cigarettes once and for all? only time will tell haha.

  6. March 22, 2010 6:04 pm

    Do I really have to say it?

    If you are a male/man, your comment will not be published here at AROOO. You will be sent to the block pile and we will never see you again. It is in the room rules. Sometimes, if your comment is mock worthy, as “Regina’s” was, as if a simple google search did not prove Regina was in fact a 21 year old male, I may published it with editing mockery.

    Trust me when I say, we here do not die of curiosity. Most often, we only read the first word or two of your comment, sometimes not even that. I have honed my skills down to smelling comments that are male authored before my eyes even have a chance to focus.

    The same goes for women who come here arguing for men. Read the rules. We don’t give a fuck about how much dick you want to suck or how wrong you think we are because we will not suck your man’s or your son’s dick.

    And yes Virginia, tyrannies are males, so the same applies to their rubbish,—and the delusional female born females who want to be men.

    You are not our nucleus. Get over it.

  7. March 25, 2010 6:03 pm

    Soulsis is trying very hard to bite her tongue in class and not tell everyone to piss off with their revisionist history and white woman centered thinking as it pertains to white womens willful oppression of black women. Soulsis is biting her tongue so hard on all the tomfoolery she has had to partake of that she damn near bit it off!

    (Deep breath) woman=white and always has throughout this “womens” liberation farce.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      March 25, 2010 6:31 pm

      Soulsis,

      Let me guess: the class is *not* being taught by a black woman.

      😐

    • March 25, 2010 7:28 pm

      Pretty safe bet, as it is true, but I have encountered some white identified black women as professors who are just as bad as the white women.

      But I cannot say what I want to say, what is true about “womens” liberation… because I would only be a bitter reverse racist who loves to piss on the efforts of women and men, don’t forget that men supported white womens liberation efforts, who have granted me the freedom to think like I do.

      Yeah I have actually had someone say that to me. News flash fuckers black women have been thinking like we do for hundreds of years now. We just recently have more freedom to say what we’re thinking and we create that freedom as it has never been given to us by any one white male or female! And certainly never by black males!

      I just needed to rant before I blew my top! On another note Margie I found those dark chocolate coffee beans you & Kitty were talking abt a while back.. Its like crack for me! I love em!

Trackbacks

  1. quote of the fucking year. « anti social butterfly (IMHO)

Comments are closed.

