Skip to content

“Feminist Icon” Sigourney Weaver Sucks James Cameron’s Dick, FOREVER!

April 13, 2010

Sigourney Weaver Says Kathryn Bigelow Won Oscar Because She Has Breasts.

You may remember (personally, I have yet to watch any of the Alien movies) that Weaver is the main character in James Cameron’s Alien movies.  Well, looks like ol’ Weaver could only come up for air during a 31-year-long blow job to insult another woman.

I just want to know who labeled this tool a “feminist icon.”  WTF?

Not to mention how she believes a big production means better:

“In the past, ‘Avatar’ would have won because they [Oscar voters] loved to hand out awards to big productions, like ‘Ben-Hur.’ Today it’s fashionable to give the Oscar to a small movie that nobody saw.”

In addition, it should be pointed out that Weaver is using an anti-affirmative action frame. Where’s there is racism there is most certainly sexism and where there is sexism there is mostly certainly racism. The first two comments on Fox News ask, “Didn’t they do this with the blacks too.” Meaning, Denzel Washington and Halle Berry only won Oscars because they are black. Weaver is practicing and entrenching white male supremacy either way.

And don’t think I’ve missed the Irony (the I deserves to be capitalized). Cameron tries to make a film about “tree hugging” (Not sure how exact that assertion is, I’ve heard Avatar called that before) and/or save the natives to show how not racist he is in a I don’t see color so I will make people blue kind of way. Bigelow’s film puts us smack in the middle of Iraq. You know the whole macho-man military man trope. So Cameron tried to appear like a “liberal” (I’m not sure if he wanted to be a “real” liberal or just what passes as a liberal) and failed flat. Weaver has been considered a feminist. Now she is defending big business and wasteful spending (what the neo-cons claim will send them melting like salt on a slug but they are now in love with her) and a stupid ass crybaby I am king of the world because I say so man by using misogynist and racist framing. Bigelow rises from the ashes (she divorced Cameron and anyone who has ever been through a divorce with a man understands how it is an act of rising through the ashes) to go on and win an academy award and instead of the “feminist icon”[Weaver] realizing the male sandbox “female empowerment potential” in Bigelow’s achievement, she resorts to the role of misogynist Mama Bear.

12 Comments
  1. April 13, 2010 5:38 pm

    I haven’t seen any of the movies. But Weaver pissed me off nevertheless. Asshole jerk.

    I just requested “The Hurt Locker” from the library. I am number 38. Yippeeee…..38. I hope those bastards do not scratch up the DVD by the time I have a chance to see it. You know how some people act! “Not Mine!”

  2. Level Best permalink
    April 13, 2010 8:10 pm

    WOW, incredibly offensive statement from Weaver. And racism and sexism are the Devil’s two heads (also they are the two heads of too many “two-faced” white men and of “their” women like SW, here. And the person typing this is paler than pus!).

  3. FemmeForever permalink
    April 14, 2010 8:15 am

    What she said is stupid and very disappointing. But you must see the Alien movies. They are classics. I recommend Alien, Aliens, and Alien3. These are excellent and you will learn how she earned her icon status. I can’t recommend the fourth. The only thing good about it was Gary Dourdan.

    • April 14, 2010 1:48 pm

      If I have to watch the movies to understand why Weaver is considered a feminist icon then that would mean it is her character who is the feminist, not Weaver herself. I only point this out because it is a small pet peeve of mine for people (no one in particular) to feel betrayed with public figures when it was themselves who blurred the line between image and the actor/person, for example Tiger Woods.

      Another example is Dixie Carter. Since her death, I have read that she was a staunch Republican and made demands when she had to read the fiery feminist and liberal leaning Julia Sugarbaker speeches.

  4. pmsrhino permalink
    April 14, 2010 2:59 pm

    This… is just ugh… when will women get their heads off the patriarchy’s dick long enough to realize that they are hurting themselves as much as other women with comments like these? A pat on the head from The Man isn’t worth your own destruction. Where’s the survival instinct?

    I try very hard to not mesh an actor with the characters they play. I LOVE Ellen Ripley in Aliens. LOVE her character. Alien and Aliens are two of my all time favorite movies. She is a complete badass (and saves kitties!). Don’t know if I would call her feminist based solely on that, I think it takes more than complete badassery to be a feminist icon, but she is definitely a strong woman action character in a genre that typically leaves the alien fighting to men. But women are starved for strong lead characters so I can’t say it doesn’t make sense that Ripley (and in turn Weaver) were blown up into this epic feminist icon (wonder if it was more men who turned her into that icon or actual feminist women… this does make me curious…).

    Despite how much I try to separate the actor from the character this news still disappoints. Weaver pretty much always plays a strong female lead in her movies and I know that I’d seen it enough to think that Weaver was similar. A strong woman who wouldn’t take shit from men, be they serial killers, androids, or demigods who come to steal her baby with pink ooze. But it would seem this isn’t the case. Or asshole directors of movies with budgets that honestly would have been better spent being donated to charity. But it seems this isn’t true. I guess this means Weaver can’t fight aliens too… why must reality always harsh my buzz? 😦

  5. Level Best permalink
    April 14, 2010 5:42 pm

    Queen Kitty, I’m going to have to give the hat-tip for the humor to Margaret, who has compared white people’s skin to the color of pus. I’m Appalachian, and when I read that comparison I grinned, because I know, Nordic peasant stock that I am, that I’m way paler! Maybe I’m the color of fish pus, though…

    • April 14, 2010 6:18 pm

      Your ownership is funny as well, especially in light of the hostile reception we got for Margie’s use of pus color.

      Some people just need to live a little, don’t they Level Best (like you have done) and learn to poke fun at themselves every once in a while.

    • April 15, 2010 7:33 pm

      What? A poor reception to calling them pus-colored? How so? Why?

      **Snicker**

  6. Mary Sunshine permalink
    April 14, 2010 7:33 pm

    I’ve often thought of white skin as being a sickly, or unhealthy, colour. Pus is an evocative description in that sense. 🙂

  7. April 16, 2010 3:10 am

    I’m disappointed in her.

Comments are closed.

