Skip to content

Open Thread 49

April 16, 2010

She Saw Him Fall

3 Comments
  1. April 16, 2010 5:37 pm

    You know, I love love love Erykah Badu. And I can see where she was going in that video, I really can. But there can never, so long as there is male supremacy, be anything at all subversive about stripping. I just wish that women could see that. She’s never been a “sex icon,” and although I don’t think it was her intention to portray that in the video, I know that it will be perceived and used that way anyway.

    That said, Wanda Sykes’ parody was funny.

  2. April 20, 2010 6:41 am

    I’m in the middle of watching Pan’s Labyrinth as I promised. But, as I said before, and I realize people don’t retain my prattle when I am going on about movies and novels, I cannot watch scary stuff all in one sitting. Also, Hello, no one told me it is in Spanish. Not that it matters, it is just, I didn’t know. So far I am at the part where the rebel is getting his leg sawed off. That is why I had to cut it off and day a day or two break. I did thoroughly enjoyed Ofelia going deep into that fig tree and tricking the frog into eating those pebbles. I think the mother’s excuse for marrying the Captain is a little undeveloped thus far, or frivolous at best. And I so didn’t need to see that Captain beat in the face of that rabbit hunter and then shoot the rabbit hunter’s father at point blank. Good grief.

    I had to pop in Bleak House for a healthy dose of mental cruelty to erase the physical cruelty out of my mind. I hate that fucking Tulkinghorn.

Comments are closed.

