Skip to content

Open Thread 52

May 7, 2010

24 Comments
    • pseudoadrienne permalink
      May 7, 2010 9:56 pm

      That’s female empowerment for yah. Thanks mainstream [white] feminism. :slams head against wall:

      If you want to torture yourself even more might I suggest Iron Man 2? Pure male hubris and masturbatory delusions of superiority. It might be just a movie, but the film demonstrates that they really think they can make themselves into gods via technology. And we’re supposed to be their long suffering, self-sacrificing doey-eyed damsels and handmaidens.

    • soulsis permalink
      May 7, 2010 10:45 pm

      As much as u got on my last damn nerve in february, I fucking LOVE to read your comments on maleness and male supremacy. I also love to read your comments on heterosexism.

      “Masterbatory delusions” fucking awesome.

      I’m going to see sex and the city 2 with my female relatives (sisters, cousins, friends) because I liked the first one. Granted I was Flyin off of some red wine. Its my guilty pleasure. The thing I love to hate and hate to love. Lol

      Iron man made me want to puke!

    • May 7, 2010 11:39 pm

      Gah! I’m going to see SATC 2 also! I did actually used to like the tv show years ago, which I blame on having just quit smoking, when I first started watching, and having no sense for a minute as a result. Anyway, I watched the first SATC movie out of a compulsive need to feel superior to pop culture phenomena, and it’s why I’m going to see the second one as well. The first one, I rented – just could not bring myself to walk into a theater and ask for a ticket in public. This one, I’m going with a friend who shares the same need to mock and/or screech at the horribleness of it all.

    • May 8, 2010 2:43 am

      I got one thing to say: Yall are WEAK! WEAK! WEAK! I am proud to say that I have never, not once, ever, seen one episode of this crap. The trailer made me want to puke out all the High Fructose Corn Syrup stored in my liver.

    • soulsis permalink
      May 8, 2010 3:29 am

      and kitty for the win!

      Yeah, yeah. I already know I’m weak! I own it man. Its for my sisters birthday.

    • soulsis permalink
      May 8, 2010 4:36 am

      I have only recently seen any of the show. Back when it was poopular I didn’t have time and only occasionally (3x at most) caught piece of an episode. And only then because I was studying and tryina stay awake. Friggin surviving on 3-5 hrs sleep.

      All the white girls at my job wanted to see it and they tried to drag me along. (Dodged that shit like the matrix tho, only to end up watching it with my sisters)

  1. soulsis permalink
    May 7, 2010 10:48 pm

    I’m still laughing at pa’s friggin comment “masterbatory delusions of superiority” LMFAO

    God that was funny.

    • pseudoadrienne permalink
      May 7, 2010 11:04 pm

      I’ll be here all week 😉 But seriously, I was hoping to get hit in the head with a folding chair half-way through the film. The film is the very personification of men’s pretentious fantasies that they manipulate and control the universe via their “inventions”, money, politics, and selfish, pathological ambitions in general. And we, like Pepper Potts, get caught in the crossfire all in the name of “progress”, and again we’re supposed to endure- and even be flattered by the humiliations and dehumanizing pain we experience while men build their “legacies”.

    • May 7, 2010 11:34 pm

      I saw the first iron man, Pseudoadrienne, and was also irritated by the way Pepper Pots was there to give the proprietary stink-eye to any/all the other women he brought home to fuck. Because as far as I’m concerned, dick sucking is dick sucking is dick sucking. And if you’re going to suck dick in any way, it’s pretty damn precious of you to look down your nose as anyone else does it.

      But honestly, the way that aspect stuck in my craw probably had as much to do with finding Gwyneth Paltrow annoying as anything.

    • pseudoadrienne permalink
      May 8, 2010 6:24 pm

      Because as far as I’m concerned, dick sucking is dick sucking is dick sucking. And if you’re going to suck dick in any way, it’s pretty damn precious of you to look down your nose as anyone else does it.

      Exactly. Fellating male supremacy can take on many forms. Unfortunately a lot women– even “feminists”– fail to realize it…or refuse to.

  2. soulsis permalink
    May 8, 2010 3:30 am

    If it makes anyone feel better, I watched the shit while buzzed.

  3. May 8, 2010 3:07 pm

    Slow Saturday. Since 6:00 AM we have not had one whiny comment from a male or male lover. Could they be getting the message? Yayyyyyyy!

    • soulsis permalink
      May 8, 2010 3:23 pm

      Hell no! Lol you guys havemt posted any hard truth I mean “scathing hatred” lately. 🙂 give it time, they always have to make their presence known.

  4. May 8, 2010 4:52 pm

    As I’ve grow older I am relying more on a priori knowledge from instincts. Instincts that the patriarchy would like me to lose. No longer will my youth aid in ignorant acquiescence.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      May 8, 2010 5:49 pm

      Yup. Yup.

      🙂

  5. May 9, 2010 4:17 pm

    muliebrity

    What does this mean? To behave like a mule? To be treated like a mule?

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      May 9, 2010 5:07 pm

      Never seen the word before im my life! Did you encounter it in some kind of context?

  6. May 9, 2010 4:25 pm

    My parents are coming up to visit today. I am planning to come out to them about my homosexual polyamorous relationship with a transwoman.
    i don’t really have any reason to think it will go poorly. they are by and large very queer-friendly, at least with regard to my friends, and have never expressed disapproval of any of the above modifiers as applied to people who are not me. but i am their daughter, which sometimes changes things, and I have never come out to them about anything before. And this relationship is big. Quite possibly The Big One. so I am freaking out.
    Hugs, advice, and/or good vibes gratefully accepted, if anyone has any to spare.

    In other words:

    Hi mom and dad, me, your daughter, a female at birth is in a relationship with a man who engages in homosexual activities. Yes, I know, I know, it is quite shocking, a female involved with a male, a male who goes about doing whatever he desires, including indulging his delusions. I know. But, please, don’t oppress us any more than we already are.

    I got some fucking advice: RUNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      May 9, 2010 5:08 pm

      Muliebrity probably figures in here somewhere …

    • May 9, 2010 5:39 pm

      LOL! You know I love words and phrases. Muliebrity is Dictionary.com’s word of the day.

      [myoo-lee-eb-ri-tee] And when I heard it pronounced I was surprised to hear the rise in pitch and force (I am sure this is described in another way) with the e in the middle of the word.

  7. May 12, 2010 10:48 pm

    wow. muliebrity. I’m not sure i like it…myoo-lee-eb-rity. where would ya use that in context? “I woke up today to find my muliebrity had leaked. damn. have to wash the sheets again.” Or, maybe, “One day, i’d like to date someone who really embraced her muliebrity. or his. as the case may be.” (like, uh, ‘transwomen”–probably more in touch with their muliebrity than I am with mine–though i do like mules. and i have a mulish side…)

    as far as sister and her polyamorous homosexual relationship–christ on a cracker–that doesn’t make any sense AT ALL. except in your translation, Kitty. you’re right. it’s NOT a homosexual relationship–these people are clearly heterosexual. and doin’ the same old same old. He does what he wants, she tries to make sure her parents are okay, and accept him…pffft.

Comments are closed.

