Skip to content

Open Thread 53

May 15, 2010

32 Comments
  1. May 15, 2010 3:31 am

    That otter made me yawn.

    • pseudoadrienne permalink
      May 16, 2010 12:02 am

      Same here. Strange isn’t it? The contagious yawn. Either way that otter is fucking precious 🙂

  2. Mary Sunshine permalink
    May 15, 2010 3:07 pm

    I’d rather yawn than scream and cover my ears.

    • May 16, 2010 12:12 pm

      I saw it screaming and covering its ears too.

  3. atheistwoman permalink
    May 15, 2010 8:07 pm

    Kitty how dare you change your name again when I’m not paying attention. Or did you? So many changes I can’t keep track anymore. Maybe your pseudonym is queer ;-).

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 15, 2010 8:37 pm

      Though this one does rhyme…

    • May 16, 2010 1:58 am

      I could swear we had this conversation already. Didn’t we? Now, I am not sure.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 16, 2010 3:53 am

      If you haven’t changed it recently then we did. For some reason I thought the “Power” was new. I am too young to have alzheimers, says the hypochondriac.

  4. May 16, 2010 1:58 am

    Can I just say that the one reward that I most treasure from over six years of blogging in some form is how synchronized Margie and I are when it comes to moderating comments. Occasionally, as in, maybe one a year, do we question a comment that each other moderated, but never to a degree that was not explained satisfactorily the first time around. We have one solid policy. We don’t fucking answer demands from males or male lovers. We don’t give a fuck what they think about us. We simply don’t care. We are proud to have this space that men cannot monopolize. Personally, I am proud to have found another person with the strength of character that I have had to live with alone. I don’t have to have comments. If not allowing men here means tumbleweed rolling through, then let the tumbleweed roll. I am so glad my days of needing male approval are over. Especially male approval from men that I will never know in person and who have absolutely nothing to do with the quality of my immediate life. Why women would cater to those men, is beyond my convictions. Actually, it is counter to my convictions and if I ever feel alone in feminism it is when I see women catering to men. A line must be drawn somewhere and if it is not drawn on the fucking internet, where in the hell can it be drawn.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 16, 2010 3:55 am

      No kidding. The internet is a marvelous tool (err sometimes). Where else can someone really say ‘ no men/men-centrism/loving allowed’ in anything else approximating a public discussion?

    • soulsis permalink
      May 18, 2010 5:29 pm

      Can I just say that the reason men balk at any correction or block from this site is because other “feminist” cheerleaders freely allow them to mansplain and muck up their places?

      There is absolutely nothing radical or revolutionary about sucking dick or kissing ass. And that goes for ALL whites and ALL males. You are not a fucking radical feminist if you enable/contribute to white supremacist and male supremacist bullshit, period. There is nothing radical or feminist about enabling men to monopolize conversations. There is nothing woman loving about subjecting yourself to the poison of whites or males.

      The real radical women are those who do not accept white supremacy and male supremacy. That said, the only true feminist women I have ever known and will ever consider to be feminist women are you and Margie. The rest is just a bunch of the same fluff. You have tones of jealous, catty, racist white female thieves and plenty of women sucking up to white women and white males claiming to be women, but not nearly enough truly feminist women who are really about womens liberation. Its all just a huge sick fucking joke to these vultures posing as feminists.

      I have decided that my mind is too precious to me to engage or care about fools who suck up to patriarchy while calling themselves feminist. Hetero or lesbian, they’re all sucking up to men in one way or another. I watch as Margie puts out posts that get barely 4 comments and shake my head. These people reading (most of them racist white female vultures hoping to steal a pearl and run off) aren’t looking for meat, plenty of meat is served here. They wanna feel superior, all of em and their lil males too.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 18, 2010 7:34 pm

      On top of that arooo is one of the few places one can read and NOT encounter vicious disingenuous attacks on black women and lesbians.

    • May 19, 2010 4:37 am

      when i grow up i want to be you kitty :p

  5. joankelly6000 permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:01 pm

    Kitty I tried to add you as someone who can view my blog (not to presume that you need to) and when I added what I thought was your login name (the one above), WP claimed not to know you existed. Which made me want to do what the otter is doing and cover my ears and howl.

    • May 21, 2010 11:22 pm

      My wordpress id is ekittyglendower. (without the end of sentence period). Do you know Margie’s?

    • May 22, 2010 9:24 am

      yay, thank you.

      Let’s face it, I’m an internet-challenged person. It let me add the names I thought were for Margie and Soulsis and a couple others, though now I’m thinking maybe I might have accidentally added strangers with those same usernames, ha, and just not realized it. I’ll get it sorted out some how.

    • soulsis permalink
      May 22, 2010 9:45 am

      Soulsistasoulja is my official wp name. 🙂

    • tigerpetals permalink
      May 22, 2010 11:52 pm

      Would you mind adding me? I understand if you don’t, since you really don’t know me at all. I’ve only ever contacted you twice before, when I wanted to find your new blog and when you first put your current one under protection. My wordpress username is tigerpetals. Thank you either way.

    • joankelly6000 permalink
      June 2, 2010 1:20 pm

      turns out I do not know Margie’s, unless it’s simply “Margaret.” which was my first, fairly ridiculous-on-my-end guess. I did add everyone else correctly finally, though. Including you tigerpetals, and thanks for wanting to read it. I’m still not writing much at all at present, but I only made it private out of various exasperations, not any kind of fear.

    • June 2, 2010 3:11 pm

      It’s margiejamison.

    • joankelly6000 permalink
      June 3, 2010 3:40 am

      thanks, Margie

  6. soulsis permalink
    May 18, 2010 3:30 pm

    Every black woman in my life is having some trouble on their job due to white women and their tricks and games.

    Its hard out here for a black woman, especially when you have white women and their jealous hatred to contend with.

  7. May 18, 2010 7:56 pm

    I have a new doctor and for a quick second I had a feeling she is a trannie, which would be he is a trannie. But, I will do some more fishing on my next visit before I conclude. It may just be some weirdness that I am not used to.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      May 18, 2010 9:20 pm

      Uh oh! Good luck.

  8. soulsis permalink
    May 18, 2010 10:49 pm

    Sigh

    A white woman made a racist crack (again) at work. She put on some act as if she were offended that others viewed her as racist for her racism. Of course the white ppl coddled here and made her feel better about her racism. How fucking nice, the black people she offended didn’t hear boo about THEIR (our) righteous rage over her commentary but of course her feelings matter. Negro women don’t feel the way white women do.

    Tell me again why black women distrust white women and keep them at arms length? Don’t worry, I’ll wait.

    • May 19, 2010 12:48 am

      WHY ARE YOUR COMMENTS GOING INTO SPAM!!

      I have been hearing racist shit all day. If I hear about Arizona and how the speaker is not racist one more time!

    • soulsis permalink
      May 19, 2010 1:06 am

      Dunno and stopped tryina figure out why I’m going to spam. Maybe its all the cussin!

      All whites are racist, deal with it. That way we don’t gotta hear those tired ass stories and excuses for racism. Its been racism city all day.

  9. May 19, 2010 4:39 am

    I’ve finally finished uni for the semester with nothing shy of a distinction for everything 😀 and i’m finally going back to blogging, it’s been to long and i miss the witty observations/facts that the radical feminist blogosphere provides.

    that and i don’t know why they don’t change the name of womyn’s studies at my uni to queer theory tranny loving prostitution is an empowerful choice studies :S

    • soulsis permalink
      May 19, 2010 8:16 pm

      I just almost fell off my chair laughing @ your last comment. Lol

      Wow that is funny, and sad too. You’re right, womens studies aren’t at all about women anymore. Males always end up being the focal point, no?

    • May 23, 2010 7:19 am

      I know right eh? I spent most of my semester trying to explain to my class (and occasionally my lecturer as well!) that botox and breast implants are not “choices” and sucking dick was not freedom. You’d think some of them would have picked that up in feminism 101 but then again, it was a 101 class of sorts, but still. There were a number of second wavers there who thought that the second wave was “too angry” and “too hostile” to men.

      I usually got pissed off and walked out of class by that point.

      Silly us and our silly lady brains, thinking womyn’s studies are for womyn. I forget it’s all about dick, wang and how men aren’t really oppressors. Idiots.

      Glad to know I’ve still got it 😛

  10. soulsis permalink
    May 19, 2010 2:26 pm

    Margie, Kitty, I’m REALLY glad I listened to you about that sister @ my job. She’s one of their little trolls. I should have known better than to think the white women would ever allow anything other than a sellout white identified black woman to work in such a high position.

    Glad I stayed out of that shit show! 😦

  11. soulsis permalink
    May 19, 2010 6:33 pm

    Off topic but for whatever reason I cannot post comments on Margies post “lies and excuses” from my phone. Kitty is it just me? I know my stuff keeps going to spam lol

    Was looking at a picture of my niece today and remembering being obsessed as a child (and I do mean child I was about 7) with making sure my sisters knew how to get home if they ever got lost. I remember sitting down with them and showing them which way the bus (schol bus) was supposed to go and if it went the wrong way to let the driver know and not get off the bus. I also taught them how to defend themselves against males if anyone ever tried to touch or harm them.

    And I was only 7 years old… I knew even then that females were in danger when it comes to males. We would discuss this in our own elementary way and plan how to be safe. This memory is comforting and sad for me because it is so telling that a child this age knew males were unstable, unsafe and a threat to girls and women.

Comments are closed.

