Skip to content

Open Thread 55

August 13, 2010

11 Comments
  1. August 13, 2010 9:52 pm

    That’s a fried pork chop.

    LOL!

    I forget Friday is open thread day. Too long of a summer, I guess.

  2. August 14, 2010 2:26 am

    I have my first ever peach cobbler in the oven, right now. I’m practicing so I can get it right by the time my friend comes to visit.

  3. August 14, 2010 2:30 am

    Hey hey! Now, that’s what I’m talking about!

    Nobody convinced you to put a crumb topping instead of a real crust on there while my back was turned, did they?

    • August 14, 2010 2:40 am

      No, and I am sweating my first attempt. The recipe called for a little bit of water mixed with the peaches, but I didn’t add any. By the time I heated the peaches (fresh) and added the sugar and stuff it seemed to liquidly, so I didn’t go with the water. We will see.

  4. Mary Sunshine permalink
    August 14, 2010 12:45 pm

    Sometimes you have to add a bit of cornstarch or flour mixed in with the sugar. My mom used to.

    I live alone now, so rarely do that kind of baking anymore. *sigh*. I miss it.

    When I lived with my mother and my daughter I did all that. Baking rocks! 😀

  5. soulsis permalink
    August 14, 2010 8:25 pm

    Kitty, if u take a bit of oil and flour and mix it and add some it will thicken the liquid. 🙂 and u can use it for anything, gravy, sauces that are too thin etc.

    I’m commenting here to say that I may pop in sporadically over the rest of the year and maybe not. I’m definitely not opening my blog back up. There are a lot of things going on right now and I am going to spend most of my time on that. Wish I could say more…

    I hope things go much better for all of u though and that you enjoy the rest of your summer.

    Xoxo
    Soulsis

  6. FemmeForever permalink
    August 14, 2010 10:04 pm

    I was looking for your blog, soulsis, to add it to my feed. But I think it is by invitation only, right? I like your voice but I fully understand that the unrelenting day-to-day hatred can get very overwhelming and one needs a frequent escape. Take care.

    • soulsis permalink
      August 15, 2010 1:41 pm

      Right now its private, soon it will be deleted. I don’t have my comp anymore so I cannot maintain it.

      I have 2 battered women fighting a seemingly losing battle in court against their abusers. That’s way more important to me than blogging right now. If anything keep us all in your thoughts and meditations.

    • August 16, 2010 3:15 am

      I definitely will, and if you ever feel like emailing me down the line for any reason, especially if you ever think there’s anything I might be able to do (even if neither of us knows what it is yet), I will always be glad to hear from you, but I won’t expect keep-in-touch type emails from you. I will be thinking of you though. xoxo

  7. August 15, 2010 9:17 am

    Sorry you’ve got so much to deal with justnow, soulsis. Hope you’re okay.

  8. Scramoodles permalink
    September 17, 2010 6:42 pm

    That golden glory that can only be brought by deep fried food. Drool.

Comments are closed.

