Skip to content

High School Reunion Rant

August 16, 2010

My high school is planning for a 30-year reunion. I feel about high school reunions as I do weddings. They are unnecessary and overdone. Anyone I want to be in touch with, I have been in touch with. Anyone who wanted to find me has found me. Not to mention, I have to ask myself why I would want to be in touch with someone who has lost touch with me. If it was all of that, why was contact lost? It reminds me of a people search commercial. A young woman is pondering if she should join because maybe an old boyfriend has been searching for her. Well, he is an old boyfriend for a reason. Why bring him back into your life? To repeat the episode that led to the coup de grace? Whatever. You want to know what I remember about high school? Worrying about what to wear, and not in the sense of what was fashionable but what was clean and untattered enough not to bring attention to myself, and how I was going to get to and from school each day.

Of course when I got the the FW’ds PMs from Facebook about the reunion I had to show my ass. Which means, I executed a sucker punch without any intentions of answering possible responses. Actually, my plan is to act like I was unaware that I said what I said aloud. Of course, I have read one response already, the typical, “If there are any concerns we will be happy to address them, blah blah blah blah blah.” I am being petty, I know.

The first thing that pissed me off was the reply all replies. Why should my inbox be filled with who is going or not going. That is between you and the person who needs to tick your name off some list. It is so cold. All those messages and none are for me personally. The second thing that pissed me off, we all, well, at least 25-30% of the graduating class have been connected through Facebook for some time but suddenly without notice the committee has been formed. Not that I could have helped since I am states away, but that’s not the point. Guess who makes up the committee? The old guard. All of the same old people, the who’s who of high school. Some have not even bothered to be on Facebook prior to this committee. Naturally, my sucker punch was, “The more things change, the more they stay the same.” Not that I care, it is so juvenile, and I suppose I am FUCKING TRIGGERed! (lol) Even though I cannot tell you that high school was any more traumatic than jobs I have had, or the military, college, or any other group I have belonged to. Still. You know. The bastards could have least asked if I was interested in being on the committee instead of making a space available for me after I leave a nasty remark. Honestly, can they be trusted to be transparent, or will there be a joke behind my back that there are two meetings, one that includes all the people who pushed their way onto the committee and another for the real committee, —-the old guard.

Let them all defriend me if they dare to exhibit any road but the high one. Thirty years of being corseted into the high road must be stifling.

Fucking towel boys (My replacement for the default epithet, bitches), all of them.

9 Comments
  1. August 16, 2010 6:05 pm

    Online rants are so passé.

  2. joankelly6000 permalink
    August 16, 2010 8:02 pm

    I love this one I just haven’t had time to respond to it yet, or to watch the whole Mad Men from last night yet either, but can’t wait for both.

  3. August 17, 2010 3:56 am

    I never plan to go to any high school reunions. I was never popular, and I moved around too much to even really get to know anyone. I went to 3 high schools, and it would have been 4 if not for a loophole that allowed seniors to attend school out of district. I never remembered any of the people my best friend used to talk about. I don’t even remember the names of the girls I went to senior prom with.

    So, yeah, I’m with you. Why go to a reunion to see people you never bothered to keep in touch with? I can’t imagine anything more depressing than being a go-to person whenever reunion planning time came around.

    • August 17, 2010 5:45 am

      I never plan to go to any of my high school reunions either, I got invited to my five year reunion for next year despite the fact I NEVER GRADUATED HIGH SCHOOL.

      “Why go to a reunion to see people you never bothered to keep in touch with?”

      Ah exactly, plus the girls I went to high school with made my life a living hell because they decided I was a lesbian (at an all-female school this made it worse, lesbophobic fools.) Never keep touch with them – they’re all having babies and getting married and doing the good White girl Christian thing :S

  4. Scramoodles permalink
    August 17, 2010 11:58 am

    I love reading rantings and yours has a good basis. Ha ha ha. Only one good reason to attend it, and that is if you could say to them, ‘in your face!’

  5. August 17, 2010 1:14 pm

    Hi Scramoodles! Glad you stopped by.

    You know, I always thought that maybe if I had gone to an all-girls school maybe I’d consider going to a reunion, but if berryblade’s experience is any indication it sounds like I wouldn’t have much in common with my classmates then either. I think my absence is going to have to serve as my “in your face” at all of my school’s reunions.

  6. August 17, 2010 5:26 pm

    They can all go to hell. The bottom line is they just friended me to compare profiles. That is so ten-year reunion and not thirty year reunion.

  7. joankelly6000 permalink
    August 17, 2010 7:00 pm

    Well, as ever I’m a weirdo. I actually want to go to my 25 year reunion, if they have one. Because I’m a weirdo, that’s why. I wasn’t popular at all, and hopefully the one popular girl I slept with since high school who may or may not still be angry at me won’t start a have-her-posse-of-formerly-popular-girls-except-we’re-now-all-early-40’s-so-the-concept-doesn’t-really-hold come over to my non-posse-having self to stir shit. Hopefully, I say, because I just know I would end up saying stuff I don’t need to say, to prove I’m meaner, and that’s infantile. And I wouldn’t be able to resist. And the whole reason I’d go is so I could tell the girls who were nice to me, who I loved, who I was too self-involved with self-loathing back then to ever express fully my appreciation – “thanks for being nice kids, back then. I hope your lives have been good in the interim.”

    I told you, I am a sentimental weirdo.

  8. August 19, 2010 11:24 am

    I’ve just missed my 35th; I had too much going on and just couldn’t get to it. They posted the old yearbook on Facebook, if you want to see it (in my photos)… it’s VERY MUCH That 70s Show, LOL.

    My overwhelming thought when I saw the reunion photos is how OLD everyone is… we can’t be that old, can we?

    The good news, after several decades, our old guard seems to have dissipated, poof: gone (((imitates Kevin Spacey on Keyser Söze))) … I wonder where they all went?

Comments are closed.

