Skip to content

Open Thread 57

August 27, 2010

13 Comments
  1. August 28, 2010 7:30 pm

    God, if I see one more man pissing on the side of the road like a dog, I’ll scream.

  2. August 28, 2010 7:42 pm

    If my doctor cannot see me today I will have to go to urgent care. My lungs go from feeling okay to feeling like I am drowning.

  3. atheistwoman permalink
    August 28, 2010 9:37 pm

    I’m sorry Kitty, health/hospital/doctor stuff is so stressful. Feel better.

  4. August 29, 2010 1:41 am

    I hope you were able to see a doctor and that it’s nothing too serious.

    We were just at the doctor the other day, and she prescribed all kinds of medicine/treatments. It ended up being more expensive than we expected, but I’m so happy that it’s turned out to be just what galit needed.

  5. August 29, 2010 1:02 pm

    Gosh, that doesn’t sound like much fun, Kitty. I hope you’re alright.

  6. Mary Sunshine permalink
    August 29, 2010 5:33 pm

    {{{ Kitty }}}

    I’m thinking about you.

    Be well.

  7. August 29, 2010 6:07 pm

    Hope you’re feeling better Kitty. xoxo

  8. August 29, 2010 6:18 pm

    Me too 🙂

  9. August 29, 2010 7:03 pm

    I have to tell you all. Whenever I am sick, chest cold, head cold, runny nose, coughing up shit, back of the throat raw, eyes watering, body aches, I always feel like I am dying. I am beginning to think that I am a pansy. How is it that I expect to be in ICU with the code blue team waiting by my side and others (including doctors) just say, “Aww you just got a cold, it will pass.” As if.

  10. joankelly6000 permalink
    August 29, 2010 10:12 pm

    You know what though Kitty, I find that doctors often don’t take these symptoms of feel-like-I’m-dying seriously enough, and I have to be what I am now convinced has been permanently noted in my electronic charts – “high maintenance and pushy.” I have to tell doctors, of all people, that being able to breathe and sleep is a must if I’m going to get better. I have to tell doctors, of all people, who have openly acknowledged in recent years that they know damn well the OTC “cough syrups” don’t work for shit, that OTC cough syrups don’t work for shit for me, so can you give me the goddamn stuff that we both know works, especially if I’ve got bronchitis, or any other sleep-disrupting cough?

    Yes, colds pass, but there are things that impede healing/recovery, and those things are a) pain (yes pain has been shown to have a detrimental effect on the body’s healing abilities) and b) lack of proper sleep. If you can’t breathe, you can’t sleep, and it’s hard for colds to pass.

    You’re not a pansy, you’re just really sick, and deserved some care, not hand-waving and a shrug.

    **is willing to go yell at doctors on your behalf if you like**

  11. August 31, 2010 4:06 am

    FYI, I crossed the equator Sunday night. I was in too much of a coma to know exactly in which hour, but when I woke Monday morning, I knew the crisis was over. Now, I just have sore muscles in my lower rib cage area from coughing too much, and an all over body ache, but nothing like the day before. My daughter fell off her bicycle around the block today. I answered the phone and a tiny voice said, “Mommy I wrecked my bike.” I jumped up, pulled on my reliable fully covering trench coat, and ran outside. When I could not see her down the road in either direction, I got the car. I forget such quick motions could make me woozy. Right when I was leaving the driveway she came hobbling up, coincidentally it was right when I was thinking why was I going after her instead of telling her to pick herself up and come home. It wasn’t like she had a warped wheel or something. The biggest damage was a scraped elbow. She said a woman walking a dog asked if she was okay but my daughter was more worried that the dog was going to pee on her or the bicycle because the dog was sniffing both like it intended to do something. That is what made her get up and wobble home.

  12. August 31, 2010 2:53 pm

    I’m starting a sick journal (not on-line, the old fashioned kind). Each time I am sick or in pain, backache, headache, etc, I am going to record the date and what I did the week and/or days before, such as how I started feeling sick this past Friday, and about a week before that I was running a lot of errands that I usually try to avoid, like Target, Wal-mart, etc (all in one day) and my daughter’s back to school event that had loads and loads of people, and then there was the kennel, and the gas company men, again, all in one day. I think I am going to be forced to become one of those people who carries a can of Lysol and a container of Clorox wipes. It goes against everything I believed before. I used to think, the more one exposes themselves to common germs, the stronger one gets. I’m not so sure about that anymore. Maybe because I am growing older or it could be the shit out there is becoming super shit. I know, I just think being sick more than once every now and again is just too much. Granted last time I was sick, it was not the cold variety as much as it was the stomach and vomiting variety. I did write a journal entry about that one so I will used that as my last point of reference.

Comments are closed.

