Skip to content

Wal-Mart

September 7, 2010

In the early hours of this morning I went to Wal-Mart. I needed more yarn. I was able to get more skeins of the blue that I needed to finish one project, but I was only able to get one of at least two more skeins of the Coral Reef I need to finish another project. In my basket I had a 24-roll package of toilet paper, six skeins of yarn, one small jar candle, and a bottle of Febeeze. I put everything on the conveyor belt to be scanned. When the cashier was done, I did not appreciate how she did not tear the bags off the carousel for me. I had already maneuvered the big package of toilet paper and put it in my basket the least she could have done was to hand me my bags. It is not a matter of me not thinking I should get my own bags but the possibility of missing a bag or two. She knows how many bags she filled up so why can’t she hand them to me. The carousel has about eight or ten bag outlets and most of them have an open bag waiting to be filled. It is hard to determine which bag is mine or not without going through all of them. I know my countenance conveyed a message of inconvenience. Yet, she stood there stoic like she was daring me to say something while I stood there daring her to check my attitude.

After I got my bags and she told me to have a good day and I returned the compliment I raced to the door. Actually, I plowed through the door. I refuse, whether I have a large item out of a bag or not, to be stopped at the door and have my receipt checked. Wal-Mart, Target, Best Buy, etc can kiss my ass. If Wal-Mart thinks I am stealing some big ass item that is plainly sitting in my basket then the burden of stopping me cordially and convincing me to give permission to be search is on them. I am not going to behave as if it should be assumed that everyone is by default a thief, thus making it my civic duty to show how law abiding I am. To do so is implying that I am grateful that they are allowing me to shop at their store when it is because of me, the consumer that they are in business in the first place.

As I was putting my bags in the trunk of the car I found a skein of yarn and the bottle of Febreeze sitting in the back of the basket not in a bag. I checked my receipt and I will be damned, I did not pay for either. I missed putting them on the conveyor belt.

5 Comments
  1. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 7, 2010 7:32 pm

    Control is never absolute. 🙂 viz., computers.

  2. September 7, 2010 8:14 pm

    LOL!!!! 🙂

  3. joankelly6000 permalink
    September 8, 2010 4:13 am

    I just like the idea of you making a break for it without knowing you were making a break for it. You’re my hero, Kitty.

  4. September 8, 2010 6:30 am

    Hahah whoops!

  5. September 8, 2010 12:43 pm

    Tee hee! 🙂

Comments are closed.

