Skip to content

Open Thread 58

September 10, 2010

21 Comments
  1. September 10, 2010 8:43 pm

    I want our reader-commenters to know how much I appreciate all of their kind words. Having a reminder that there is still compassion among women is what encourages me to write and hang out here. A special thanks to TBL, although I am sure she does not expect such a public display of gratitude, being modestly English and all, however, thanks so much for thinking of me when she had an Amazon gift card. It came in handy. I have already used it, as in the book has been ordered, shipped, and delivered. Deb, sugar, my lazy ass needs to email you one day. Ever since your birthday, blogger will not accept my comments. I get a BMX2433 error message (or something like that). It is quite frustrating. Val and Joan, hugs darlings, I am such a queen, therefore you are getting a queenly hug. Berryblade keep chugging right along, I love you girl. Mary Sunshine, sweetie, kisses. And Soulsis, you know, girl, some people will just never know, I feel you. Where is my little fruitworm AW? In her corner over there. Of course my lovely sweetie friend Margie is always near and dear. Did I miss anyone?

    Why did I have to hear Peggy from Mad Men talk about the modern disease, Chronic Dissatisfaction? I have been self diagnosing and subsequently plagued with it since the mere mention. Not only a queen but a hypochondriac queen, it appears. Tomorrow will be all the wailing warmongering geared toward 9-11 that happened like, I don’t know, NINE FUCKING YEARS AGO! How many have died in Iraq, you know, the country that had nothing to do with 9-11. But let’s keep that christian warmongering alive! We will never forget!

    While I am feeling quite sad for those poor souls in San Bruno. One minute you are here and the next you have a raging and roaring fucking ball of fire outside your front door and your neighbor is dead, along with her two cats who ran and hid to get away from the drama. No, it is not an eulogy or anything so macabre, just a slow day while I try to detach myself from all the things that demand my attachment. I must remember, we all only have one life. One life. I need to move my ass.

    Just for the record, Microsoft Word has the weakest fucking dictionary/word find of all time. If you are misspelling a word you better be so close to the correct spelling or Word will not be able to help. Stupid Word.

    • September 10, 2010 9:36 pm

      Love and hugs to you, Kitty! O Very Queenly Queen of Power! 🙂 xoxox

    • atheistwoman permalink
      September 11, 2010 12:30 am

      “fruitworm AW”

      Fruitworm! Is that one of those backhanded compliment thingums, or just a right up front insult ;-). Yes, I’ve been in my lurky corner, learning from all y’all.

      And I’m really glad the 11th is on the weekend this year, so I can tune out any overwrought speeches.

    • September 13, 2010 5:33 pm

      I call my daughters fruitworms.

    • la redactora permalink
      September 13, 2010 9:15 pm

      No worries, I was teasing (a bad habit that I keep forgetting to break…).

      I think it is very cute, and it reminds me how everyone used to call me bookworm as a child.

    • September 13, 2010 5:50 am

      Love love love! That gas explosion is so, so horrific 😦

  2. September 10, 2010 8:52 pm

    Today someone told me, “You are such a Republican!” This insult because I said I didn’t care if that creep down in Florida was to burn the Koran or not. I don’t care. Let him and his followers burn the Koran and in turn let whoever wants to, burn the Bible. Religious people are of no interest to me. If their nastiness is blatantly revealed, perhaps the curtain can be drawn back and everyone can see how religions are nothing more but covers for unadulterated misogyny. Some fucking book is supposedly so esteemed it cannot be burned without protest but female people are raped and murdered daily without a burp. Whatever.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      September 11, 2010 1:01 am

      Kitty!! 😀 . . . What I’ve been feeling every time I bump into that story again on the internet.

      I love that we are all so telepathic with each other, and yet learning so much from each other as the years slowly turn by.

      ((( All of us )))

    • September 11, 2010 1:05 am

      I am planning a Yellow Pages burning party for Saturday, September 25, 2010. A big fuck you to the man.

    • September 17, 2010 6:35 am

      That’s brilliant.

    • Edna permalink
      September 11, 2010 2:24 pm

      Especially the Pope, wasting his time on that instead of getting his house in order.

  3. joankelly6000 permalink
    September 10, 2010 9:53 pm

    Hugs to you too, Kitty, and everybody else here.

    I know what you mean about the book burning and all of it. It just kept popping into my head, whenever I would see one more thing about the news conference and the planned meeting tomorrow to talk about the mosque and the Quran burning – “circus of tyrants. circus of tyrants.”

    Ugh, this has been the week of scary sleep bullshit. Capped off with last night’s nightmare of being chased by a group of young white males into some house I apparently lived in, and theoretically making it inside before they could grab me but waking up with that feeling of dread, that it is inevitable, they will get into the house because it’s too big for me to run and lock all the windows and doors and they’ve spread out around the outside already. I had to turn on lights and go through my apartment to make sure they weren’t there, even though my rational mind knew it was a dream when I woke from it.

    On the plus side, the cats were glad to see me pop into the living room for a second at 2:30am. And I was glad to see them lounging on the couch – they’re my fuzzy burglar alarm. If they’re sitting around relaxed, it means no one else is there.

  4. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 11, 2010 6:45 pm

    A philosophical reflection on survival.

    “Should” one want to survive? If so, why?

    How do others feel about this? (Note: I am not talking about suicide here, “merely” (heh heh) survival.)

    I reflected upon this today. If one is past the point in one’s life when further physical or social goals are achievable, what necessity would urge one to feel so?

    It seems to me that the P. enjoins us to do so, and to feel guilt and remiss in some duty if we do not feel so.

    It seems just another way that males (theP.) deny our individuality and our freedom to act (with respect to our own well-being) from within that context.

    When a female person chooses to no longer feel the desire to survive, the P. declares it a calamity. Under no circumstances is it permissible for others to support her in that feeling.

    Which is not to say, of course, that in all other cases, i.e. those in which female persons do feel a desire to survive, males and their minions actually give a flying fuck about their chances of doing so.

    • September 13, 2010 6:44 pm

      Although it has nothing to do with the movie, it can’t because I’ve never seen the movie, the words The Constant Gardner came to mind after reading your comment, Mary. The world always needs teachers, mentors, and wise people of the village. In a way, that is where I feel I am at right now, but not quite, but sort of. I am realizing that I was never overly ambitious (actually, I’ve always known, but it is really really sinking in) and have always been happy with referring/directing people. References and directions I only know/have because of experiences. Now that has been enough fuel lately, especially when I invest too much in an outcome. I did have a woman I have not seen in years tell me last week that the best thing in her life has been going to nursing school, something she owes to me. I don’t remember it, at all. She says when she was applying for Nursing Assistant school I gave her some long speech about not wasting her time there and that she was smart enough to go to nursing school and that nurses are able to put themselves in financial positions to leave their husbands. Supposedly, I even quoted a statistic of how many married nurses leave their husbands upon graduation. I used to work out with her sometimes and ride my bicycle as she ran (she was a fast runner). So, I am sure we did a lot of talking. I did dislike her husband, who is still her husband. But maybe my words were the push that she needed. I don’t know. I hate to feel like I am aware of helping people while I am doing it, but I know that I also need a reason to keep on keeping on. You know.

    • la redactora permalink
      September 13, 2010 9:34 pm

      References and directions are always best when given by those with the fewest delusions about reality. Keep on keeping on, Kitty.

      @MarySunshine. There is a hypocrisy, there. They deny the right to give, sustain, and take life, even one’s own.

      Then they maneuver the circumstances of all those events to make them as miserable as possible. When a female wishes to have a child, they insist (for the most part) she do it through PIV or they do not allow her to have a child. When a female wishes to not have a child, they force PIV, they force pregnancy, they do not allow abortion. When a female wishes to sustain her life or the lives of women around her–she is labeled insane, hateful, etc (look at all the hate directed toward Margaret and Kitty, for a start)…When a female no longer wishes to sustain her life, has lost will to live, or even wants to commit suicide, yes, then that is a big ffing deal, probably because they see it as ungratefulness, or a loss of income/rapeable female/worker/vote, whatever. The machine doesn’t run without its little cogs, you know. My picture here is very incomplete, sorry.

      I know that you, Mary, were talking about something slightly different, and at that I agree w/Kitty, and the keep on keeping on of the constant gardener.

  5. la redactora permalink
    September 12, 2010 1:46 am

    I am just here to inform, cough brag cough, about my new name. My gravatar and ip are all still the same, but I thought I should put it out there to avoid future confusion.

  6. September 13, 2010 5:52 am

    well, i got an assignment back at uni today and i got another distinction. and i had a group-run workshop/tutorial today and i knew things about the authors that my lecturer DIDN’T KNOW (!) so i’m feelin’ pretty snap happy.

    and i feel like an arsehat, but i’ve just discovered the poetry of marianne moore and marilyn nelson and i just have to say WOW.
    anyone else familiar with their works?

    • September 13, 2010 5:33 pm

      Way to go. Sometimes I am ashamed to admit it, but it feels good to be noticed. I remember in my first college History class when we received our first test back. The top three student’s names were written on the chalkboard (this before white boards, lol). I loved seeing my name and I loved how everyone in that class saw my name.

    • September 17, 2010 6:41 am

      It’s a pretty good feeling, and I’ve always loved to learn so knowing that the things that I see and hear in class is actually sinking in is pretty good. I got the results back for the presentation the other day and I got my first high distinction of the year 😀

      All thanks to some brilliant study tips factcheckme shared on her post ‘on credibility’

      radical feminism just leads to so many positive things (although, one does see a lot of negatives too)

  7. Gemma permalink
    September 17, 2010 1:14 am

    I thought I remembered someone here commenting on how there must have been more to the story about the white woman in Vancouver who claimed to have been attacked by a black woman throwing acid on her face, but now I can’t find it anywhere. Maybe it was somewhere else? Anyway, turns out the white woman did it herself: http://news.blogs.cnn.com/2010/09/16/police-washington-woman-admits-acid-attack-was-a-hoax/?hpt=T1&iref=BN1 Of course, none of the articles I’ve read have mentioned anything about her imaginary black boogie-woman. I guess it’s just natural that when you’re making up a criminal they’d have to be black.

Comments are closed.

