Skip to content

Open Thread 60

September 24, 2010

16 Comments
  1. September 25, 2010 3:00 am

    Let’s get this weekend party started.

  2. September 25, 2010 5:44 am

    LOL.

    TBL has a couple good posts up now 🙂

  3. September 25, 2010 10:09 am

    Heh. I’ve worked about 50 hours this week, and I’ve somehow now got to pack in all my cleaning, laundry, rest and relaxation, not to mention lesson planning and paperwork, into the next 48 hours. And I have a cold. That was my little moan/whine. Feel free to roll your eyes 🙂 The good news is that next weekend will be the smallest ever radfem convention, when Val comes to visit me. On the agenda is: going to the lesbian bar, drinking beer/wine, going for a balti, talking a lot, etc. Can’t wait!

  4. September 25, 2010 4:38 pm

    Woohoo! Watch out, TBLtown!

  5. September 25, 2010 8:47 pm

    I am excited and envious about the TBL-Val summit!

    I have started my own weekend party by getting the flu and slightly obsessing over what it could possibly mean that my crush texted me saying simply “PLEASE CALL” an hour and a half ago. I did call, but got her voicemail. She lives with someone who currently works with me, so I’m half-like, “fuck, did something happen to Nena and that’s why S. is trying to get a hold of me?” and half-like “is there any chance in hell she a) finally got the hint(s) that I like her and b) gave a damn and is trying to reach me because she likes me back?

    In the mean time, I am losing the battle to remain upright, and am feeling so fuzzy-brained on top of it that it’s probably good if she doesn’t call me back until I’m no longer Typhoid Mary. Last whine: I thought this was going to be the weekend where I finally had the time to go see Inception! Boo.

  6. September 25, 2010 9:31 pm

    Oh no, I’ve given everyone the plague by email!

    That’s so exciting about your crush, Joan! It must be because she likes you, surely. It’s so annoying though that one is always destined to be sick or something when crushes come to their senses. 😦

    • September 26, 2010 8:42 pm

      ha, thanks Val. 🙂

      I still don’t know what gives. She called me back (I feel like a 12 year old, detailing all this, ugh) and said it was because of thing-x, but thing-x is something we had already talked about when I last saw her so it wasn’t like there were new questions/any new information to share, so I was like, hm, and then she initiated continuing to talk anyway, asking how’s-life-and-getting-to-know-you type questions, and I did the same, and it was enjoyable, and I was too nervous to say what I wanted, which would have been “hey can we go to coffee or food so I can ask you more about this, that, and the other thing?” She has lived a pretty interesting life so far and I want to hear more about it, even if we don’t end up being anything other than platonic friends.

      BUT – something that bedevils me is that she and I both have the kind of senses of humor where we joke around with/tease people we like, even platonic friends, but we are this weird nice-polite-stiff version of ourselves when we talk to each other. Gah! I love her sense of humor (I see her being that way with everyone else, plus hear about her also from our mutual friend who works with me), and I’m happier when I’m more relaxed with my own, but it’s like I fucking freeze up around her still. Ugh. I don’t know if I’m supposed to take that to mean “you don’t have chemistry with each other” or “you are just nervous because of how attracted to her you are, and it’ll pass.”

      In any case, Kitty I hope your hot tamale stomach ache has passed, and TBL I hope you feel better soon!

    • September 27, 2010 9:12 am

      Awwwww! That is so sweet!

      Ha, ha, surely the feeling you describe isn’t not-chemistry?

      Sounds like she wanted an excuse to call you. Maybe she couldn’t think of a very good one, or maybe she’s struggling too and thought the best way to proceed was to make it obvious that she couldn’t think of a good excuse to call you, but called anyway.

      I can understand, though. It’s hard; I just went the most ridiculously convoluted route to communicate my feelings to my crush (which I am officially giving up on, by the way, as it’s too much work). I think we should both resolve to be direct about it, even if it just ends up being a practice one, and a platonic friend who feels attractive around you.

      Well, I’m actually probably projecting with that last paragraph; I’m the one who’s never had an acknowledged relationship/sex with a woman, not sure if that applies to you.

  7. September 26, 2010 2:45 am

    My tummy hurts, I cannot think straight and I feel dizzy because I ate too many Hot Tamales today. I am just glad they are now all gone.

    I’m done with Hot Tamales, I swear. Those nasty little things. We are no longer friends.

  8. September 26, 2010 3:11 am

    Oh, you’ll be back in Hot Tamales’ embrace sooner than you think. They’re irresistible. I always eat the whole box in one sitting too.

  9. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 26, 2010 1:15 pm

    Hmmmm …. I didn’t realize that cinnamon could be hot.

    I’ll try overdosing my cinnamon toast with it and see what happens.

  10. September 27, 2010 9:14 am

    I don’t think I have ever had a Hot Tamale, but I do remember something in Canada called Cinnamon Hearts of something like that. Is that our version of same, does anyone know?

    • September 27, 2010 4:06 pm

      We have cinnamon hearts in the US as well, I think. They’re small and kind of hard yet chewy. The Hot Tamales are a bit bigger, the size of a large oblong pill, and they’re very soft and chewy. I like them both.

      Did you ever try that extra dose of cinnamon on your toast, Mary?

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      September 27, 2010 6:55 pm

      Yup. 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp brown sugar, 1 tsp butter mixed into a paste, & spread over 1 small piece of toast. Yummy, but not heat producing. Then again, I do enjoy eating whole jalapeno peppers. They come in a jar.

  11. September 27, 2010 9:00 pm

    Oh gosh, I used to love cinnamon toast so much.

    I want a Hot Tamale now.

Comments are closed.

