Skip to content

Does Joan Abort The Pregnancy?

September 27, 2010

The product of post-mugging on the street could not possibly had an orgasm up against a stairwell where passerbys can see every little detail, sex.

If you remember Joan’s regular doctor was only aware of one abortion although Joan had let it slip that there had been two pregnancies. So, that means either she had a second (or maybe even a first) abortion with some other doctor or she carried a pregnancy to term and gave the child up for adoption.

It is 1965, and Joan is 34 years old. When Joan is sitting in the abortionist’s office waiting to deal with pregnancy number three, a 32-year-old mother of a pregnant 17-year-old mistakes Joan for a mother of a pregnant teen as well. When she asks Joan how old her daughter is, Joan answers 15. Now, I have already read that Joan falsely answers because she is embarrassed by being “so old” and having an abortion. However, in typical Mad Men style, we are left with scene ellipses. Perhaps Joan answered truthfully about having a 15 year old daughter while allowing it to be implied that is why she is sitting in the abortionist’s office at that minute and not there for herself.

Nevertheless, I wonder was 34 really considered too old to be having an abortion. My mother had her last two children at thirty-three and thirty-five years old and wished she had aborted us all. There was no way she would have gotten her hands on $400 though. No way. She did briefly consider giving the one she had at thirty-three years old up for adoption. All the rest of us paid for that mis-thought. To compensate for her misguided guilt she abused him with indulgence and demanded our compliance. Having to get up out of the rocking chair and give it to his ass whenever he came in the room did nothing for me other than cultivate resentment at the ridiculousness of it all.

Anyway, Joan tells Roger her rapist husband has been gone off to boot camp for seven weeks. Joan has to be at least four to five weeks pregnant, so what is two weeks. You cannot tell me if she wanted that baby enough she could not pass it off as Dr. Rapist’s. Not that she would be over eager to have Roger’s baby, just saying. If she really wants a baby, the possibility is there. However, I am beginning to wonder if she does really want a baby or if she is just trying to satisfy expectations for her age and sex.

13 Comments
  1. September 27, 2010 6:01 pm

    My mother’s abortion was around the same time (and the same 7 weeks)… she was given a hormone-cocktail-shot and bled for 3 days. That was how they often did the early ones back then, or lots of them… I find it hard to believe she would be at work so soon. I think she didn’t do it, but we’ll see.

    I thought the same thing when she said her daughter was 15!

  2. joankelly6000 permalink
    September 27, 2010 10:52 pm

    Wow, see I totally thought she did it. Kitty I fucking love you for talking about Mad Men, you always say/notice/interpret things that I never thing of while watching.

  3. la redactora permalink
    September 28, 2010 7:10 pm

    Yeah, I was thinking she kept it. Not sure if it was because her age, but she does seem to keep going that route, like when she got married and left Sterling Cooper.

    And I feel like the writers would be wasting a plot opportunity if they did not either give Joan a fifteen year old daughter (coincidence I know, but far less likely things have gone down already) or did not have her keep the most recent pregnancy.

    Seeing Roger’s face and tenth heart attack (I kid) as she came into the office looking more and more pregnant would be worth it. And then there are the endless possibilities of paternity related confrontation among Joan, the husband, or Roger, all of whom have serious tempers.

    She could definitely pass it off as Dr. Rapist’s, but he is a doctor…he would know it wasn’t his (or am I expecting too much out of the medical profession?), and Roger would know too.

    “I wonder was 34 really considered too old to be having an abortion.”
    No idea, I had just thought they were trying to remind us how Joan is “so old” again.

    I like that you talk about Mad Men too :-). Although I enjoy the show far more than it deserves.

    • September 29, 2010 4:16 pm

      I would like to see Joan come into the office pregnant as well just to shut up some people on line that yap about how a pregnant married woman would have never continued working in 1965. I don’t know what planet they are living on. My first boss was a college-educated director of our department. More than once I heard stories about how she worked until she went into labor. Stories from other employees from other departments. Her kid was just a few years younger than I was. This would mean my director was pregnant around 1965-1966 and worked (by all accounts) until the day she went into labor. She was also married. White, and I assume middle class. If these women did not work, how were they supported? If Joan’s husband is in Vietnam I guess she will get his paycheck (if he decides to send it to her), but what about other women whose husband left and/or was killed without insurance/pension?

    • la redactora permalink
      September 29, 2010 10:35 pm

      No women worked anywhere until 1963 you know. No one. They never left the house, either. Thank god Betty Friedan rescued the women of America, all of whom are white, married, and middle class, from such utter isolation.

      But even after that those shameful shameful babies were born in “red tents” where women would retreat to in the middle of the night, and wait for the stork to arrive!

      Trust me, I’m a history major.

  4. September 29, 2010 2:32 am

    I don’t really like Dr. Faye. I hate that she automatically assumes the role when Don told her to take his kid home to his apartment. He barks, “Well I would ask my secretary, but she is dead.” As if, well, Dr. 1000 years in college Faye, your work is not as important as mine and since we are fucking now, you need to stand in for a secretary when I need one, because, you know, “MY SECRETARY IS DEAD!” Now he is making goo-goo eyes at Meagan.

  5. September 30, 2010 5:41 pm

    Aaaarrrggghhh spoilers!!!! These episodes haven’t aired over here yet! I try to stop myself from reading but I just can’t do it!

  6. September 30, 2010 6:21 pm

    For me, Sherlock Holmes will always be Jeremy Brett!

    • September 30, 2010 6:29 pm

      Perhaps, if we are going to keep Sherlock in late Victorian time then I suppose Brett will do. However, if we are going to bring him into 2010 then why not Bendedict? Not that I can argue really because I haven’t seen it yet. I used to loathe when a work would be put in another milieu and/or time, but Othello starring Keeley Hawes, Eamonn Walker and Christopher Eccleston convinced me not to be so prejudice about a change in time and place.

  7. September 30, 2010 6:56 pm

    To be honest I haven’t really watched much of the recent Sherlock Holmes productions. I gave one a try from 2002 but apparently modern Sherlock Holmes meant sexualised murder of women and children, so I am probably painting them all with too broad a brush now.

Comments are closed.

