Skip to content

What Has Replaced Pantyhose? And A Little about Tweens Not Shaving

September 29, 2010

Often I hear women bragging about how pantyhose are outdated. I’ve been living in California too long because the last time I visited my doctor she had on a pair of pantyhose and a strappy high heel and it threw me off for a second. At first, I thought it was because she was wearing a hose with a sandal but I squashed that as soon as I reminded myself that I did not care about such matters. Then I realized it was the hose with or without sandals that caught my attention. I have been dressing like what any typical “feminine” woman would call a comfortable slouch for so long that I haven’t realized that the female world has put the brakes on pantyhose, or at least they have here in California, where it was like a record breaking 113 degrees Monday.

Yesterday I had a small job at a High School and I looked around at the school staff, including the female teachers and what I saw was, every one of them was wearing some type of pant, be it Capri, shorts, or just simple light but long pants (I saw no jeans). All shoes were either sneakers, sandals, or some leather shoe that did not expose a sock or hose. The one woman in a dress was the counselor, a woman with a PhD. Her dress was one of those very lightweight summery type beach dresses. She wore it with bare legs and short sandals. She was white and darkly tanned as in unnaturally tanned. Her legs were shaven too.

There’s the answer to pantyhose, shaven legs and if you are white and/or have very light skin, a manufactured tan. I don’t think I have to tell anyone but all methods of tanning are bad. Using the direct sun, tanning beds and/or applying a self-tanner to achieve a tan are all potentially harmful to your skin. There is even a product called air stocking in which your legs are airbrushed. Supposedly, Oprah sang the praises of air stocking on one of her shows.

Of course, you could just never wear anything other than pants. However, recently Martha Stewart was spotted at a fashion show and was raked over the coals for having a pair of espadrilles on with stocking feet. She was wearing pants. Someone said something like, “Martha you better get those toes pedicure [as if that was the reason she was wearing stockings, because she neglected spending money on a pedicure] and slap on some self tanner and take those hose off.” I hate the feeling of bare feet in all shoes other than flat sandals and flip flops. Maybe Martha didn’t want to go bare and she didn’t want to wear socks. What’s the problem? If she was too white that would have been criticized, not for being white as in a white person but for not poisoning herself with tanning product. Incidentally, it was this very distinction that stupid ass Glenn Beck tried to conflate not too long ago. Or maybe it was Rush pedophile Limbaugh. One of them was whining about how white people are oppressed because there is an expectation to be tanned. LOL!

The demand for a pedicure adds another layer.

Funny how a six dollar pair of pantyhose has now turned into the price of tanning, the price of a pedicure, and the price of shaving. Price as in paying with money and your health.

Thus brings me to my sweet little child who has now had to tell two girls in her gym class to MYOB. The first girl said, “Kitty III, I think you forgot to shave your legs.” In which my daughter said, “You worry about your legs and I will worry about my legs.” Then, a week later another girl who manages to wiggle out of exercising with an endless amount of doctor’s notes asked Kitty III, “Do you use an electric razor or the other kind.” My daughter being quick on the uptake said, “MYOB.” LOL! That’s a derivative of our mantra around here: “You take care of your business and I will take care of my business.” Kitty III was smart enough to know that the girl just wanted a lead-in to talk about Kitty III’s unshaven legs. I tell her straight up, shaving one’s legs is for nothing but appearing fuckable. If not, then why is there a country song titled, ♪ “Did I Shave My Legs for This?”♫

♪I bought these new heels, did my nails
♫ Had my hair done just right ♫
♫I thought this new dress was a sure bet
For romance tonight♪♪ ♫
Well it’s perfectly clear, between the TV and beer ♪
♫I won’t get so much as a kiss
♪As I head for the door I turn around to be sure ♫
♪♪ ♪Did I shave my legs for this? ♫ ♫

I never had a problem when I was in school. Fortunately, I went to a predominately-black school and at the time, shaving one’s legs was the least worry for young black girls. I don’t remember much of a problem when Kitty II was in school either, although she would have started shaving if she wanted to, or not shaving at all, without discussing it with me. Willful child.

Anyway, if girls continue to bother her about her legs (which are not even noticeable unless you are looking for something and which is something I shouldn’t even have to defend even if her leg hair was noticeable without looking for something) I will call it bullying and see what the school says. Especially since the school hammers away about being anti-bullying.

Do you think it is bullying? Or should girls just suck it up?

11 Comments
  1. la redactora permalink
    September 29, 2010 10:24 pm

    Sheesh, panty hose. The answer is, don’t wear panty hose, don’t shave your legs, don’t get a pedicure, and don’t faketan 😉

    “Or should girls just suck it up”

    Yes but why should they have to? Like you say, it’s pretty minor, but the minor stuff really does start piling up. If they feel free to get on her about her legs what will they go for next? The hair, the brows, the clothes, the skin, the weight, the nails, etc etc etc.

    I wish I had her presence of mind. MYOB, ha!

  2. la redactora permalink
    September 30, 2010 12:36 am

    But yes, the bragging is like those women who think they are so! sexually! liberated! because they wear a bikini, or sleep around/have multiple live-in boyfriends.

    • September 30, 2010 12:45 am

      I know right. I am so liberated that I don’t wear pantyhose but I spend my 67 on a dollar on waxing, tanning and professional pedicures. “Gawd, those men who get rich are so dumb. They think they are doing me a service by selling me waxing, tanning, and professional pedicures, but the truth is, the joke is on them because I am liberating myself.”

  3. September 30, 2010 1:00 am

    I’ve always been extremely hairy. My cousins and my sister never shaved when we were young, they all had fine, nearly invisible body hair. But they all teased me mercilessly about my visibly hairy legs, arms, nape, and sideburns. Luckily, my mother wouldn’t let me shave at the time. And by the time she relaxed her stance, I was over it for the most part. I did shave my legs just so I could feel what had been denied to me all that time. But the fact that it took a razor for each leg (which was a waste of my hard-earned babysitting/dog-sitting money), and the fact that my legs itched when the hair started growing back the next day meant it never became a habit.

    Oh, yeah, about the bullying. Yes, it’s bullying. And it will also be bullying once they start calling your daughter the “body hair police” or whatever for making any kind of a case in defense of her choice, after constantly being accosted about it. I hope she’s able to stand firm

    • la redactora permalink
      September 30, 2010 1:13 am

      police and “you’re judging my choices!”

      Maybe you should stop making such bad ones eh? Just a thought?

  4. September 30, 2010 6:28 am

    I totally think it’s bullying. I had to deal with the same crap at my high school because my folks wouldn’t allow me to shave my legs until I was about 14, which ended up with me getting beaten up at school, called a dyke and ostracised from my peers.

    My school did nothing about this – even though they said they were adamantly anti-bullying. They opted for what they deemed a “no-blame” approach, which is just fucking stupid because obviously someone’s done something worth blaming for in the first place if people/parents/children are actually trying to take action.

  5. September 30, 2010 2:23 pm

    Oh, yeah, about the bullying. Yes, it’s bullying. And it will also be bullying once they start calling your daughter the “body hair police” or whatever for making any kind of a case in defense of her choice, after constantly being accosted about it. I hope she’s able to stand firm

    oh yes, the ‘body hair police’. I can see it now. They’ll accuse her of oppressing them because her leg hair will be more visible than their mindless conformity. Her militant not-shaving will be so in-your-face!

    I hope she can stand firm too. I would have already caved at that age. I’m very impressed by her, and by all young women who can stand up to that kind of thing.

  6. Anne permalink
    September 30, 2010 2:33 pm

    Yes. Basically because I believe that it is your own business if you shave or not your legs, what kind of clothes you choose to wear, if you use make-up or not, etc.
    I’ve saw quite a few women who complain that people discriminate them for their choice to wear a burqa- IMO, it is a choice as valid as wearing a pair of jeans, a very short skirt, a long skirt, etc- as time as this is your choice- go ahead.
    And, yes, some people should stop caring so much about what other people are doing- especially when it doesn’t affect them.

  7. September 30, 2010 5:38 pm

    Kitty III sounds very smart. I’m well impressed by her response to that girl.

    I’d also call it bullying, but I wonder if the school would share that perspective? Schools in general seem to support the bullying of girls who won’t voluntarily adopt feminine garb and fuckability-related habits.

  8. Anne permalink
    October 1, 2010 10:08 pm

    I also hope that the school can take some measures against this. The problem is that many will see it as just a “small conflict” between children. Just that this “small conflicts” can be very hurtful, and in many cases don’t stop at a few words- they can continue for weeks or even months and can affect a person(through she sounds quite strong- much more than I had been).

    It is good through that schools in your area have anti-bullying rules. When I’ve made the “mistake” to say that I am an Atheist in the class, the entire hell(lol) broke up- people throw water on me, called me evil and cursed, started putting crosses on me to see if I “will burn”, started to make the sign of the cross every time they were near me, told me not dare to touch them as I am cursed, told everyone including teachers that they are “afraid” of sitting in the same class as me- but everyone called it a conflict that will resolve from itself…..

    • October 2, 2010 11:01 am

      “It is good through that schools in your area have anti-bullying rules. When I’ve made the “mistake” to say that I am an Atheist in the class, the entire hell(lol) broke up- people throw water on me, called me evil and cursed, started putting crosses on me to see if I “will burn”, started to make the sign of the cross every time they were near me, told me not dare to touch them as I am cursed, told everyone including teachers that they are “afraid” of sitting in the same class as me- but everyone called it a conflict that will resolve from itself…..”

      Holy crap, where are you from? When I said I was an atheist, I just got a lecture about how I should love god because he’s good for me or some shit.

Comments are closed.

