Skip to content

Open Thread 61

October 2, 2010

30 Comments
  1. October 2, 2010 4:08 am

    What a sad little open thread.

    I haven’t had a warm shower since Tuesday morning. Water heater was removed by a plumber who didn’t know what he was doing, or so the landlord says. Then they found a leak in the pipe in the concrete so there was no sense in replacing the water heater until the concrete was removed and Julio (yes that is his real name) could not come over until he found his brother who was down in L.A somewhere, so another loser came by who could not do anything, so now some more losers are coming Saturday morning at 7:00 am. I have been boiling water like I am living in the Little House on the Fucking Prairie. And for some reason water is not feeding into the dishwasher. The washing machine keeps knocking the breaker off. WTF?

  2. October 2, 2010 5:18 am

    Hopefully they’ll be able to take care of it tomorrow. I hate more than anything having to have people at my house for days on end, especially when it seems the whole thing could have been taken care of in one day if not for incompetence.

    You’ll get no sympathy from me on the cold shower/lack of dishwasher front, though 😛

  3. October 2, 2010 9:32 am

    I am just leaving the house now to go and meet Val from her train! I am so excited!

    Hope you all get hot showers and home comforts soon 🙂

    • October 5, 2010 1:39 am

      OK, so how was the weekend?? I’m dying to hear about it.

    • October 5, 2010 7:36 am

      I thought it was great! Not a lot of wild stories though. We never made it out to the lesbian bar, we had a very nice curry, drank way too much. We definitely got on like a house on fire!

    • October 5, 2010 7:37 am

      Not that you were asking me, oops. 🙂

    • October 5, 2010 4:03 pm

      I agree with Val – it was great! We basically just talked and talked and drank a lot of wine, and laughed a lot, and agreed a feminist stance on Henry VIII (he was a dick). And then spent most of the next day feeling kind of hungover and shaky and unable to formulate proper sentences! LOL! 🙂

    • October 5, 2010 10:13 pm

      That sounds awesome! That’s my favorite kind of weekend, actually. Wine, conversation, and good company.

      Galit and I actually went to a small gathering over the weekend, too. A bunch of lesbians, wine, food, and conversation. And we were even able to sneak in a few lesbian separatist rants about femininity, faggots, and the future. And they were well-received! I’m not used to having offline the kinds of conversations I have online 🙂

      I hope you are planning your next get-together soon.

    • October 5, 2010 11:14 pm

      That sounds great 🙂 I know what you mean about having those kinds of conversations offline – I kept going all giddy about all the things I felt free to say out loud!

  4. October 4, 2010 6:49 am

    It’s my 21st birthday this Sunday huzzuh 🙂
    And TBL – gahhh, I wish I could hang out with the awesome online rad fems 😦

  5. Liberate-her permalink
    October 5, 2010 1:05 am

    So I was going about my business, googling “ci33exual bullshit”–full-well knowing that I’d get undesirable results mixed with what I was looking for–when one result popped up. It was that J3ss1ca Sid3ways fella, and the relevant phrase highlighted was:

    we are much better partners then ci33exual women are.

    Oye. I couldn’t make this stuff up. But is anyone outside of this room listening? I think not.

    • October 5, 2010 2:52 am

      Edited the above comment to keep it google safe. Don’t want the pricks coming here.

    • October 5, 2010 3:49 am

      we are much better partners then ci33exual women are.

      Haha, holy shit. Delusion has reached a new level.

    • October 5, 2010 5:19 am

      Well it is true if we judge by what men want, —a “woman” (until the male dies and everyone finds out (because there is $5 to be had in probate) he had been living with another male masquerading as a woman) that will let a man stick his dick in [him] (his man made slit that needs artificial lubrication) whenever he wants to and mistreat [him] sexually. Then, yes, yes the trannies do make better partners.

      LOL!

    • Liberate-her permalink
      October 5, 2010 6:13 pm

      Precisely. Susan Faludi, maybe it was, wrote an excellent piece about cadets at The Citadel having a penchant for the artifice of tran553xuality as a result of their hyper-misogyny. They “make better partners” because they bring in their male sub-dom sexuality into it, just like any other misogynist male, but they’re ready and willing, acting from a place of privilege. Not to mention that they’re sure that becoming a repository for men’s sexual abuse will validate them as a “real” woman. It’s such a fucked up system.

      I’ll try to keep it Google-safe from now on.

  6. Liberate-her permalink
    October 5, 2010 9:25 pm

    Here’s a somewhat inspiring story:

    CT cheerleaders want uniforms with more coverage
    , citing that the skimpy clothes are “demeaning” and hurts their self-esteem. That’s awesome that they’re complaining!

    • October 8, 2010 1:51 am

      Wow, that is fantastic 🙂

    • Liberate-her permalink
      October 8, 2010 1:57 am

      Yes! 🙂

      Of course, the next step is for there to be male cheerleaders for the games of female sports teams. One day….

  7. October 7, 2010 2:32 am

    I love fried cod!

  8. Liberate-her permalink
    October 7, 2010 9:10 pm

    http://jezebel.com/5658108/grown-woman-posed-as-boy-to-date-teen-girls

    I don’t endorse Jezebel, but: More tranz-rapist sexuality (not that ALL tranz ppl hide their history when they enter relationships, but boy, is there a lot of apologism for it in tranz-activism. In fact, it’s the party line).

    -Completely disregarding other people’s sexual orientation? Check.
    -Only punishing them for the (legal, tho still creepy) age disparity? Check.
    -Commenters making a big deal that it’s a woman who should be punished as harshly as a man while totally obfuscating the more salient issue of the predator being a tranz-rapist? Check.

    I only see one person who has a problem with this so far:

    “Okay, I’m confused. I see some people here defending this woman and saying that’s it’s unfair to trans people to expect them to disclose their gender [sex].”

    It’s pretty unbelievable. But I do believe it!

    • October 8, 2010 3:22 am

      Oh, god, there’s so much to talk about here. Now, I do think that trannies ought to disclose their sex to potential sex partners. If they don’t disclose their sex to folks who would decline sexual congress when fully informed, it’s rape if the tranny is male and some manner of indecent act if she’s female. And this is my main point of disagreement. I do not agree that sexual assault by males and by females can be equated, and I am adamantly opposed, actually, to rape being referred to as sexual assault. It’s one of the many terms intended to equate systemic male abuse of female people with isolated incidents of female people abusing others – like “domestic violence,” and “molestation.” Besides, males potentially impregnating and/or infecting girls with diseases is an entirely different issue than female people pretending they’re male in order to gain access to straight girls’ bodies. I’m not saying that female trannies committing indecent acts with unaware straight girls and women is a good thing; but it’s definitely not the same thing as rape, which is much, much likelier to infect female people with health- and life-threatening diseases and which could also potentially inflict health- and life-threatening pregnancy.

      It would be nice, though, if these folks would maintain some consistency with regard to whether or not they’re calling folks trannies or not. They’ll rewrite history in order to call Joan of Arc and Teena Brandon trannies, when there’s no evidence of the sort, but they can all of a sudden see in this woman’s case that perhaps she’s just a lesbian and not a tranny at all.

    • Liberate-her permalink
      October 8, 2010 4:53 pm

      I agree about the historical power differential making the crimes fundamentally different in nature, in addition to the inherent higher risk of disease and physical damage resulting from biological differences. The semantic difference is key, too.

      I actually broached this topic yesterday in a Law class I’m taking–the idea that whites and men who use the Civil Rights Act to sue for employer discrimination are not actually experiencing the same crime due to a historical power disparity, and thus any punitive damages for psychological distress should be lower than when it happens to a historically marginalized group by an oppressor–and the lawyer adjunct who teaches it basically said, ehhh…neh.

      They’ll rewrite history in order to call Joan of Arc and Teena Brandon trannies, when there’s no evidence of the sort, but they can all of a sudden see in this woman’s case that perhaps she’s just a lesbian and not a tranny at all.

      Totally missed that, but you’re so right.

    • Liberate-her permalink
      October 8, 2010 5:00 pm

      And, I would add, that normally I would have questioned the use of CRA at all (this was a recent post here, of course!), rather than invoking “psychological distress” as the factor that ought to cover the marginalization-differential, but I knew I couldn’t even go there in that environment.

      Sigh. I wish I could go to a different school, since virtually every class is much worse than that (you would not believe the shit white guys say when the topics are race, or gender discrimination), but I know I’m lucky just to be going to school at all. And even the most liberal of high-falutin’ academic institutions will have its share of dominant-culture-brainwashery.

  9. October 8, 2010 3:29 am

    Galit and I ended up going shopping for swim wear the other day. And while we were both able to find acceptable board shorts and tank tops, I heard the WORST song I’ve ever heard in my life while in the dressing room. I don’t know who the rapper is, but it repeated the lyrics “Girl, you stink. Take a bath,” over and over and over and over again. I wanted to scream. It’s so embarrassing to have that shit associated with you because you’re black.

    • Liberate-her permalink
      October 8, 2010 5:27 pm

      Ugh, that is horrible. So horrible, in fact, that were this another blog, I’d describe my reaction as having been “triggered,” haha.

      It is a shame that it gets associated with black rappers and thus black women, because of course white men are just as guilty of this shit, but they like to point to rap like some sort of kitschy thing they enjoy ironically, thus absolving themselves of any idea therein expressed, but it’s bogus. Not too long ago, Terrence Howard made comments like this in an interview. I believe many misogynistic lyrics or attacks by actors are actually borne of the self-loathing of closeted gay men. They project their self-loathing and misogyny onto women. I believe Eminem does this, and that’s what Terrence Howard is doing, regardless of their “straightness.” “Women disgust me! They are disgusting!” This also lets them vent in a publicly acceptable way their genuine disgust for women’s bodies since they are actually homosexuals. Not that it is strictly the purview of gay men, obviously. Plenty of pussy-obsessed misogynists will have equal contempt for them, because whether it’s pleasure or disgust, any act with the vagina is against the vagina, i.e., meant to be subordinating.

      Sorry I went a little stream-of-consciousness there.

    • Liberate-her permalink
      October 8, 2010 9:17 pm

      Thanks for adding the quotes back to where they belonged! I noticed my error after I submitted it. Yikes!

    • October 8, 2010 9:25 pm

      No problem. I had to because if I did not, it would have looked like you said that and if you said it, I would have to delete your comment.

      LOL!

      And I removed “internalized” from misogyny because gay men externalize misogyny, not internalize it. It is a nitpick, but if I catch it, it bugs me. Of course not that I don’t fuck up, royally all the time. It is just here, I can change things since I have the means to do so.

Comments are closed.

