Skip to content

Open Thread 62

October 8, 2010

15 Comments
  1. October 9, 2010 1:27 am

    I just want to say that any white woman comparing me to bell hooks or Audre Lorde has never read my writing. I think they’ve never bothered to look for other black radical feminist authors, let alone black lesbian separatist authors, and have just pulled the only two black writers ever given any air time in white circles in order to have *something negative* to compare me to (which is racist, by the way). I mean, even Alice Walker would have been more reasonable than that. They can’t be bothered to find more apt comparisons, though – like Anna Lee or Vivienne Louise – because they don’t want to know that we exist. They don’t want to know that there are black women who don’t buy into the male-centric ideologies of hooks and Lorde, yet STILL take issue with the ways that white women wield white men’s privilege in women-only environments.

    If a woman isn’t interested in joining other, less-ideal-by-male-standards, women, she should just say so, without reaching for unresearched, dare I say, stupid comparisons in order to dismiss us.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      October 9, 2010 10:46 am

      Anna Lee and Vivienne Louise rock! 😀 I remember them from the olden days.

      You remind me of them, only more so.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      October 9, 2010 8:41 pm

      Another years-ago black lesbian separatist that I remember is Jackie Anderson, a Chicago dyke, now a retired philosophy professor.

      Google: “Jackie Anderson” lesbian

      also, Vernita Gray. Similar google search.

      Met them both at separatist gatherings decades ago.

  2. joankelly6000 permalink
    October 9, 2010 2:54 am

    I don’t know which white women are the one(s) pulling this nonsense, but it certainly sounds like horseshit. All I can fathom as to why some white women are preoccupied with trying to dismiss or insult you in these specific ways is that they just can’t stand the idea that a black woman is smarter than they are. There *has* to be some way for it to be true that they are superior to you. And even when suspecting that’s the case, it STILL makes no sense to me. Why would anyone who holds radical feminist beliefs feel anything other than “thank fucking god Margie’s brain is on deck, good luck to the anti-female brigades is producing an intellect that even comes close!”

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      October 9, 2010 10:49 am

      I am so relieved that Margie is smarter than me.

      Now I can relax. 🙂 🙂

      The universe is giving us a huge break here.

  3. citywood permalink
    October 9, 2010 3:07 am

    I also notice it’s always the same few black feminists that come up. I hadn’t even heard of Anna Lee or Vivienne Louise – I need to get on this stuff.

    That image will always amuse me especially on your blog lol. Hope everyone has a nice weekend. I get a long one. 🙂

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      October 9, 2010 10:54 am

      Hi Citywood,

      Good luck digging it up. *sigh*. My stuff is long gone to theft and fire.

      “Women’s” studies depts get rid of it as fast as they can.

      If anybody can scan them to pdf, I can put it up as a torrent and seed it.

      Or, it can be uploaded as a “file” on anyone’s wordpress account. Any post referring to that file would then be google-searchable.

    • October 9, 2010 4:43 pm

      I had to look them up after this post. Barely found anything. There’s this by Anna Lee: http://www.feminist-reprise.org/docs/leeblacksep.htm

      and http://www.feminist-reprise.org/docs/Louise1.htm by Vivienne Louise .

    • citywood permalink
      October 10, 2010 11:36 pm

      Hm those are from For Lesbians Only though so I guess I shouldn’t read it.

    • October 11, 2010 4:14 am

      What are you saying?

    • October 12, 2010 1:29 am

      I huhed at first, but maybe they mean that the essays come from a publication called For Lesbians Only?

      Is that a joke?

    • citywood permalink
      October 12, 2010 5:45 am

      Forget I said anything…

  4. October 11, 2010 8:42 am

    I do not for the life of me under stand why so many Australian residents are starting to become obsessed with “celebrating” Halloween.

  5. October 11, 2010 10:43 pm

    Don’t forget the late Florynce Kennedy. I met her once, years ago. Not a lesbian, but kicked major ass nonetheless.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Florynce_Kennedy

    During the question and answer segment, Daisy-the-movie- geek brought up her role in THE LANDLORD (a good political movie made in 1970) and asked her why she did it. I expected some high-minded reply, and she just said “They paid me GOOD!” to audience laughter.

    I’ll also recommend the movie here, but it is white-male-centric…but that IS sort of the point (events seen through his eyes… thus when he is a dick, it really rubbed some white people the wrong way). The film will unexpectedly grab you when you least expect. Some parts of it have stayed with me my whole life, one line by Lou Gossett in particular, which I won’t repeat here and ruin it.

    You should see the movie sometime, as a historical artifact if nothing else.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Landlord

    Diana Sands was stunning, and an amazing actress.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diana_Sands

  6. Pseudoadrienne permalink
    October 12, 2010 2:47 am

    Of course in my women’s studies courses we never discussed lesbian-separatism (because “what about da boyz and menz!”), and Black women and nonwhite women were rarely discussed– what about their works and activism? This is the first time I have heard of Anna Lee and Vivienne Louise (thank you Margaret). Apparently women’s studies classes are conducted in the same way that Columbus Day is taught and celebrated in US schools…sanitized and whitewashed. White funfeminism is for everyone, yay! Bleh…

Comments are closed.

