Skip to content

Open Thread 63

October 17, 2010

9 Comments
  1. October 17, 2010 5:02 pm

    I’m only about 72 hours too late on this thread.

  2. joankelly6000 permalink
    October 17, 2010 10:59 pm

    But you’re way ahead of your time in so many other ways, I think it all evens out.

  3. October 18, 2010 7:18 am

    I hope everyone had as great a weekend as I did. My girlfriend and I stayed up all night Saturday playing cards with friends. Then we went for coffee and breakfast before heading to a weekly Sunday farmer’s market. They have a really broad selection of seafood, so we got mussels, which I steamed for everyone in white wine and butter for lunch. So tasty.

  4. October 18, 2010 10:30 am

    Mmm! Mussels are really popular in Quebec, presumably because they are so plentiful in the St Lawrence. At work in Quebec city, there were always pots of mussels going, and we had a long list of sauces you could have them done in. Some Quebec restaurants have 20 or 30 different sauces for mussels.

  5. October 19, 2010 12:55 pm

    Oh sounds like you had a lovely weekend. Valerie, ohh, isn’t the food in Quebec city divine? When I went there, many years ago (when I still ate meat) I had garlic butter snails for the first and only time there. It was delicious.

    On another note, from reading here and a few other places, I feel like I’m missing out on something by not watching Mad Men.

  6. October 19, 2010 1:30 pm

    Hey berry! Yes the food in Quebec City is out of this world. For the first few months I lived there, I was dating a guy who worked in the tourism industry doing the horse-and-carriage tours. We were allowed to eat in some of the fanciest restaurants in the city, free, because he would then promote the restaurants on his tours. He was such an unbelievable asshole, but some of the meals we had were unforgettable.

    I’ve never seen Mad Men either, btw.

  7. October 19, 2010 2:01 pm

    I’m not saying Mad Men is all that, other than it is visually beautiful and I do love all the women. The Mad Men people seem to have a way with the camera, and it is fun to catch allusions, unlike the dumbing down that is typical of most shows (Overall, T.V. is bad, so bad). However, as far as actual television viewing, it is the best (still not saying much, but the best nevertheless). To me, nothing else on television right now can compare. I’m talking acting, writing, set, etc. Again, not saying it is all that, just saying compared to the rest, especially anything and everything to do with vampires. If there was anything to compensate for raping/murdering women fantasies, and false equality crap, it is the current obsession with vampireish rubbish. Although I am curious about a new series beginning on Halloween on AMC called “The Walking Dead.” It is about Zombies. If I watch it, it will be a new realm for me because typically I don’t like that kind of stuff.

    I was told Nurse Jackie is good, but I don’t have that channel and so far it is not at the library. Usually when I am told I just have to see something, the misogyny is so horrible and the frat boy humor and/or narrative is so overwhelmingly eye rolling that I cannot watch it for longer than a minute.

    One does have to wade through the male crap in Mad Men though. But even that seems different, for one thing, no one is perfect, and they make sure you know that. I hate when perfect and/or earnest are being sold.

    Here is a Mad Men clip.

    There is a little violence, but it does not happen to a woman, if anything it is almost comeuppance.

    • October 19, 2010 3:00 pm

      I don’t mind Nurse Jackie at all, it’s got a very dry, sarcastic, dark humour to it that I particularly enjoy, I recommend it 🙂
      Mad Men does look entertaining, I’m definitely going to check it out now.

      And a T.V show based on zombies and a comic book (I believe the Walking Dead is a comic book/graphic novel series)? Sounds awesome!

      Val, ahh, you’re making me hungry.

  8. Liberate-her permalink
    October 22, 2010 4:42 pm

    I love hearing about how everyone spends their free time–cards with friends, mussels, farmers’ markets….

    I loved the organic local community supported agriculture farm from which I used to get my produce, but:
    1. I couldn’t afford it this year, really;
    2. I didn’t have time to work there (as you’re supposed to in community supported agriculture) even though I LOVE TO DO IT
    3. the owner is sexist, and his main employee I always worked with was the biggest moron misogynist ever. Sigh. There were some progressive people who also bought shares on the farm, and I enjoyed talking to them, but I mostly was around the other two.

    On a less happy note:

    http://community.nytimes.com/comments/www.nytimes.com/2010/10/24/fashion/24Mirror.html?permid=81#comment81

    This is another perfect example of Margie’s observation about this obsession with blondeness that blonde white women have. It’s disgusting, and yet it’s a top-rated comment and an editor’s pick, as well!

Comments are closed.

