Skip to content

Open Thread 64

October 22, 2010

26 Comments
  1. October 22, 2010 4:46 pm

    You all had 7 posts this week. I hope you are happy. I always feel guilty when we don’t have at least one a day. However, I want to remind you all, that you had 7 posts this week! LOL!

    I have to go get the crown today. UGH. Had the priming and the prep done two weeks ago, how times flies. Now, today, I have to go get the crown. I guess I should be happy I have dental insurance. And I suppose I should be happy that this is a crown for a cavity that was first filled in 1984 and I have not had a cavity since. I guess I should be happy. Yet, I am still dragging my butt and counting the hours until I have to be there in the chair.

    • October 22, 2010 5:06 pm

      Is it just me, or does the phrase “I hope you are happy” has only one connotation? LOL!

    • October 23, 2010 3:56 am

      I’m always stoked with AROOO 🙂

      Dental surgery? Yeuch, I have to get some done myself in a few months, they fucked up my mouth when I was younger (I had eight teeth removed and braces for three years) and I have recently discovered that if my jaw had been aligned properly in the first place, I probably wouldn’t have even needed braces + teeth removed to begin with.

      Now I have to have my jaw broken and put back together again so I don’t end up with lock jaw + heap of other problems. Yeuch, dentists + orthodontists. I feel for you Kitty 😦

  2. October 22, 2010 5:30 pm

    it’s not just you, re: “I hope you’re happy,” and also I’m compelled to add that I’m pre-emptively angry at your dentist for imaginarily possibly being about to do to you what one did to me a couple of years ago, i.e. drilling too far in a tooth that needed to be crowned, to the extent that he “killed” the nerve, except dead nerves in teeth feel like a completely alive thing in agony. Make those fuckers give you painkillers if you’re expected to be sore for a couple of days, and if it lasts more than a couple of days, they fucked up and need to fix it.

    Sorry, I know this thread doesn’t say “Unasked for Opinions # 64.”

  3. October 22, 2010 6:23 pm

    Hellish day at work. (cracks beer)

  4. October 22, 2010 6:24 pm

    Sorry about the crown, Kitty. I haven’t had one yet but I lost two teeth due to pregnancy, and that was bad enough.

  5. October 22, 2010 6:37 pm

    On the bright side, although no one is looking in my mouth, my teeth are slowly becoming one color, –tooth color. My fillings are old, and when I got fillings in the early 80s they were all silver. Now fillings and crowns are tooth color.

  6. Level Best permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:39 pm

    I only have one crown so far, but my hygienist tells me that I have at least one more in my future, plus filling reconstructions (I bet those turn into crowns, too). All but one of my fillings was done when I was 12; I am now 56. My dentist (understandly retired now!) was apparently a perfectionist, and my new dentist can hardly believe my fillings are still there and inching towards their golden anniversaries with my mouth. They are all fracturing, but with the exception of the one that went south a couple of years ago and had to be crowned, those fillings are still there. Of course they are full of mercury, because that’s how fillings were done back then, but fortunately my body doesn’t seem to be as frail as my gentle little soul, and I’ve never felt any adverse effects from them.

    My crown has done fine. The dentist really made sure that the bite felt right to me, and usually I forget the crown’s even there. I wish you happy porcelain, too.

  7. Mary Sunshine permalink
    October 22, 2010 8:36 pm

    I’ve lost count of how many crowns are sitting in my head now. Crowns, bridges and maybe less than half a dozen real teeth.

    Spent enough on crowns and bridges during a lifetime to comprise a respectable down payment on a house. *sigh*.

  8. October 23, 2010 12:20 am

    I have one crown, the result of a cavity I was never able to get filled because I didn’t have dental insurance until I was 24. I never even felt anything, just reached my tongue back there one day and realized half the tooth was gone. I got the root canal and crown 2 years later when I got my first job with health benefits. Getting the crown was a walk in the park compared to having my wisdom teeth pulled, though. That was a nightmare. I can still remember the taste of pulverized tooth in my mouth. And I had to go to an oral surgeon a week later for gum/soft tissue reconstruction because the dentist who extracted them left huge gaping wounds in my mouth that wouldn’t heal. Shudder.

    • October 23, 2010 12:25 am

      Ah grasshopper, I was 100% under when I had my wisdom teeth pulled. I didn’t know there was any other way. I was also under a few years ago when I had to have a cracked tooth pulled. They know the deal about me. Across the front of my chart it says in big block letters: FERAL CAT!

    • October 23, 2010 3:58 am

      Holy crap Margaret, you had your wisdom teeth out without being under anesthesia? That sounds painful to say the least, did you have all of them taken out at the same time or?

    • October 24, 2010 3:45 pm

      I had them all taken out at once, with just local anesthesia and nitrous oxide. It was my first time to ever get the laughing gas, and I remember thinking to myself before the nightmarish extraction began that it was a good thing I didn’t have access to a whole canister of the stuff, because I’d be breathing that stuff in day in and out. My wisdom teeth were bone-impacted, and needed to be broken into small pieces because my jaw bone wouldn’t allow for extraction of the teeth intact. Oh, it was really awful. The oral surgery I had under general anesthesia, though, and it was an entirely different experience. I was sore for a day or two, but nothing like the unceasing pain and bleeding after the extraction. I guess that’s what I get for trying to get it done cheaply.

    • October 25, 2010 4:17 am

      My mouth is aching reading that!

  9. October 23, 2010 4:10 am

    Did you know that kids can have free birthday parties at Home Depot! Wow, learn something new every day.

  10. October 23, 2010 7:37 am

    Those are horrible stories! I feel so badly for you. Do you all know that “silver” amalgams are mercury and very toxic, and probably the cause of Multiple Sclerosis (Avotja now has MS and is convinced mercury is the cause.) It’s best to have composites replace the mercury (or gold/platinum if you have the money — Fran Day paid for mine almost 20 years ago.) Beware of “gold” crowns too. I’d had a root canal I didn’t need and then a $500 (in 1985) “gold” crown that was mostly nickel, and which made a toxic reaction with my mercury.

    Dentists are about as stupid, incompetent, arrogant, and dangerous as doctors.

    Oh, and a decent dentist does not need carcinogenic and heart-damaging x-rays to find cavities. Only the incompetents need them. Just say no whenever possible to doctors and dentists!

    Don’t take statin drugs either.

    love to you all…

  11. October 23, 2010 10:54 am

    Reading all these stories is making my teeth hurt! I had to have a couple of teeth removed a few years back, and it was hideous. I can still remember the feeling of having the tooth wrenched from my jaw. I was kind of in shock afterwards, needed to go to sleep for the rest of the day. The sad thing is that if I had been able to pay, I could have saved both those teeth. Having them pulled was the cheapest option.

    I’ve got some mercury fillings too, but I can’t afford to have them removed/replaced, so I just don’t think about it. Ignorance is bliss!

  12. October 25, 2010 6:57 pm

    If I ever have the money to have a house built, I am going to monitor every inch of plumbing and electricity as it is being put in. Nothing cheap, no shortcuts. An H.E. washer should not be throwing its breaker off and that breaker should not be making frying cracking sounds, when there is nothing but that washer connected to that breaker.

    • October 25, 2010 8:42 pm

      Yes, maybe the cable is too lightweight, or the connection is lose. Or the cable insulation is damaged.

  13. October 28, 2010 7:59 pm

    Cry me a river. A young black woman gets a lead role in a usually white-centered (and usually insanely misogynist) show, and all the trannies can do (read comments) is whine how they were not front and center. “Men must always be front and center, DAMMIT!”

  14. October 28, 2010 10:59 pm

    That is pretty funny, considering a lot of them have stopped calling themselves ‘transwomen’ and think they should just be able to call themselves ‘women’. Unless it’s an actual woman doing the ‘genderfuck’ thing as they put it. Then people are ‘not okay!!11!!’ with it. Look trannies, either ‘gender’ matter not, or it matters.

    Also:

    Also? It seems to me that this whole episode is a great example of pitting marginalized groups of people against each other – i.e. let’s let the Black girl have the lead at the expense of the queer and trans (and originally White) character! It feels typically divisive, and typically tired.

    Gosh that sounds familiar…

  15. October 29, 2010 4:02 am

    I think castrated men are so much more male in the worst sense than many het men. (And that’s pretty bad.) Their sense of entitlement and self-centeredness and narcissism is unbelievable. And then they throw tantrums when they don’t get everything they want, no matter what real women get hurt in the process.

    They are not real! If I said I was a bird, would anyone believe me? Why does anyone believe a horrible, vile, disgusting man could become a woman? It’s because females are so meaningless and so worthless. We should be grateful they want to be us. I’m not. Go away!

  16. October 29, 2010 4:17 am

    My post didn’t take. I hate that.

    I hate castrated men even more. They seem worse even to me than het men, and that’s saying a lot. They have such enormous egos, such a sense of entitlement, such a sense of ownership of all women and Lesbians, and are so narcissistic and self-centered. They are about as far away from female as is possible. They are con-artists and I really don’t believe most of them even thought for a moment that they wanted to be female when they were growing up. They might have fetishized male-defined femininity, but that’s not even close to being female.

    If I said I was a bird, but am just in the wrong body, would you believe me? Females are considered so worthless that we’re supposed to be flattered that a superior male would want to be us. I’m not. I hate the fuckers and want them to leave us alone.

  17. October 29, 2010 7:25 am

    We should be grateful they want to be us.

    That is exactly the feeling I get too. We are supposed to be thrilled that they would deign to ‘lower themselves to our level’.

Comments are closed.

