Skip to content

Open Thread 67

November 12, 2010

20 Comments
  1. November 12, 2010 6:18 pm

    Will you please leave a link to your blog, if we do not have it listed already?

  2. November 12, 2010 7:19 pm

    So, I had to send my computer in for repair, and it’s been months since I’ve been able to use it. I’ve been using a really old clunker from my job in the meantime. But since my laptop hadn’t been used in a long time, I had to update all of the OS and security software, and it has taken ALL DAY LONG. I couldn’t update the security software until I’d updated the OS. And the over 60 OS updates wouldn’t all download in and install in one go, so 40 out of 60 would make it, then I’d have to try again with the other 20. Then 12 out of the remaining 20 would successfully install. Then 2. Then none. Then none. Then another update appeared. And then finally all 7 of the remaining updates were installed. And then I had to fuss with the security updates. So irritating.

  3. November 12, 2010 8:39 pm

    Do you want to know what I need to learn not to let it get my goat? People talking shit about my crocheting. Today, I was told, “why would anyone want that when they could just buy it in the store?” Yes, yes, this is true and I am willing to have that conversation if we are comparing costs, because yarn can be expensive and if you add in your labor then sure, sure, you can buy a scarf far cheaper than one can be made. But, not everyone charges for labor if they are making it with love and as a present. Nevertheless, the yarn can be expensive. The second thing is, the default belief that machine made (bought) is superior to hand made. Now, I know there is a subculture of snotty pseudo-hippie/yuppies who sit at home and mash yucca root and feed it to their precious babies and spin yarn after sheering a sheep and all that, while looking down their noses at poor smucks who go and buy a $10 machine made scarf, but, I am not talking about that. So, I guess I am talking about two opposing extremes that get on my nerves, —the people who look down at handmade items and the people who think everything has to be ground down from Yucca root. Assholes, all of them. I just want someone to appreciate my crocheting. Because if I make you something, every stitch is made with the Queen’s love. And will it kill you if you would actually use it?

    • diana permalink
      November 13, 2010 6:44 am

      A friend crocheted a scarf for me. My pic wearing it is in my Facebook photos; I look like a gleeful three-year old, I am so happy. It’s one of the sweetest gifts ever, and will be worn, as soon as this heat wave passes! Kitty, your ability to crochet is admired. Crocheting is cool.

    • November 13, 2010 5:30 pm

      Thanks Diana. I am quite pathetic begging for compliments but for some reason I want them. LOL!

      Is there a reason your name does not lead to your blog link? I want to update our blog roll. I asked for links and no one has given me any.

  4. November 12, 2010 9:21 pm

    I had to have a sort of appraisal thingy with my manager this week. He asked me where I thought I’d be in two years’ time. I said, who knows, probably unemployed, right? He was taken aback by that, though I don’t know why, as the funding for our department is rapidly running dry and there are no jobs, plus the job I do is pretty insecure, with no contract to speak of. Anyway, he started going on making a big deal about how he was ‘glass half-full kind of a guy’, whereas I’m a ‘glass half-empty’ person, and making out as though I was being ‘negative’ (as opposed to realistic).

    He said, ‘Would you agree that I’m just a much more positive person than you?’ I said, well, no, I wouldn’t agree.

    ‘Well then, how do you explain why I have a more positive viewpoint than you?’ he asked.

    I said, perhaps it has something to do with the fact that you have a fairly secure management job, with a salary at least four times as large as mine, relative job security, a house, a car, etc, whereas I am in a very insecure, very low paid job, which is also incredibly stressful, and I haven’t got any financial security, or money, whatsoever.

    ‘No, no,’ he said, ‘I think it’s just that we have very different personalities.’

    Well, that as well, of course, I said. You’re a fucking arsehole and I’m not.

    (Okay, I didn’t say that last part. But I wish I had. What a wanker.)

  5. November 12, 2010 9:48 pm

    LOL! @Kitty. If only you could combine your way with words and your skills with the crochet hook into some kind of deadly weapon, I think you would be unstoppable.

  6. November 13, 2010 12:05 am

    Kitty, do you take requests? Have Etsy or something? SHOW US! 😀 I love looking at women’s work, which I call ART.

    Here is (technically Mr Daisy’s) Aunt Laura’s crocheting: http://daisysdeadair.blogspot.com/2008/05/laura-morgan-satterfield-1915-2008.html

    I treasure all of the lovely things she made us.

    • November 13, 2010 1:40 am

      It is not fancy enough for Etsy, maybe one day. I’m just learning how to read more difficult patterns. I am just venting because the snobs around me don’t even appreciate what I do do. I guess I need to stick with my motto. Don’t expect nothing and you want be disappointed.

  7. K.A. permalink
    November 14, 2010 6:05 pm

    http://womensrights.change.org/blog/view/one_womans_costume_is_another_womans_nightmare

    Love how the tranny barges in just for the purpose of shitting all over Native American women.

    • November 15, 2010 1:47 am

      So typical. I get really sick of trannies demanding that we pay more attention to raped males than we do to raped females. If male trannies are so outraged by their rapes they should create their own tranny-led and -funded organizations to address it – just like female people have done with regard to our rapes. Besides that, trannies really need to acknowledge that if they weren’t pretending to be female they wouldn’t be raped any more than other males are.

  8. K.A. permalink
    November 16, 2010 8:25 pm

    Exactly! And if that weren’t offensive enough, it is totally missing the point that Native American women on reservations are very poor, and being raped by white men who come onto the land just to rape them. THAT is why they are trying to bring awareness to this particular cultural facet of a rape epidemic–there are additional layers of power differentials for this group of women. How he missed that can only be explained by his gross swelling of male privilege resulting in sprayed male rage all over women’s spaces, their feeble attempts to be heard for once. That silencing, hateful misogynist, ugh!

  9. November 17, 2010 3:05 am

    It also irritates the fuck out of me that transgendered males go around yelling that “trans women suffer infinity-times more violence than cis women!” as if a) it’s true and b) just saying it over and over again counts as actual evidence.

    It’s like it’s not enough just to go “hey we’re being harmed and it matters.” For some reason it has to be “you cis bitches have it so great and on top of that you HAVE BLOOD ON YOUR HANDS for not taking care of us!”

    What is it that Kitty says about people jumping in front of you and staying there just so they can claim you’re chasing them? That’s what trans women’s claims of “attacks,” by the radical feminists at this blog, against them, remind me of. You couldn’t find people who are less interested in interacting with trans women, yet apparently you all have invented some new kind of violence that can take place without actual contact of any kind even occurring. How magical you must be.

Comments are closed.

