Skip to content

Gollum (the Left) and Precious (Obama)

November 17, 2010

No one can accuse me of not owning my slowness. I have admitted more than once that I am slow on the uptake. Well, today when it all came to me I could do nothing but LMAO! I know I am like a petulant toddler when it comes to discovering things on my own. I have no shame in that confession. Although I can see all the pop culture-ish stuff around me unfold in real time, I like getting to it when I get to it. Perhaps, I humor myself in believing it is a way for me to control my intake, and not the man behind the curtain.

Currently, I am listening to The Lord of the Rings trilogy, the 1981 radio broadcast re-released on audio CD in 2002. Of course, The Lord of the Rings has been around for years. I remember in the early seventies when one of my older brothers, my father, and my mother was making such a big deal about reading The Hobbit. I just rolled my eyes and wondered what could possibly be a Hobbit and why should I care. They were overjoyed with themselves for having read the trilogy before reading The Hobbit. By the way, if you have any type of commute you really should be taking advantage of audiobooks. I know I’ve suggested this before, but honestly it is such a wonderful use of that time. Many audiobooks can be borrowed from the library and downloaded on an MP3 or Ipod. Some audiobooks can be downloaded directly from the library’s site, or listened to from the actual CD if you have access to a CD player, such as in one’s car.

Anyway, all the battle stuff is, blah blah blah blah Son of blah blah, king of blah blah, great warrior of blah blah blah…..LOL! Someone’s name sounds like the spider’s name in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Aragog or Aeron or something along those lines. Honestly, when the radio broadcast plays certain instrumentals during battle scenes and marches, it briefly sounds like a MUSICAL! Lord of the Rings, the Musical. But, the story is really about the Hobbits. Those Hobbits, —Halflings. What would ol’ Frodo do without Sam? Incidentally, a very young Bill Nighy does the voice of Sam. I just happened to see him (also very young) playing an academic brother to a Nazi SS brother. The movie did not hold my attention after the first Jewish professor was beaten up so I changed the channel. In this Lord of the Rings broadcast, it takes a lot of close listening to hear that it is Bill Nighy. His voice is not as recognizable as it is now. This recording was obviously done before he perfected his physical stammering for effect technique that is his trademark, —or at least it is for me.

Now, I cannot bother extending my analogy further than Gollum as the Left and Obama as Precious, so don’t expect much. I suppose if I did, the Hobbits would be the people on the left who did not want Obama. No, that does not work because then it would mean the Hobbits dispose of the ring (Precious) and that is not true. Well, I’m not sure if Sam and Frodo are successful or not, not yet anyway. I just started the first disc of The Return of the King. Sam has just found Frodo after he was paralyzed by Shelob (she sounds sort of like a spider) and taken by the Orcs to the Tower of Cirith Ungol. No way, the Hobbits could be the Republicans.

Don’t you just love it when people get all evil and demand the ring. Bilbo showed his ass when he didn’t want to part with the ring at the beginning of The Fellowship of the Ring. Sheesh. Frodo gets all Bilbo-ish about the ring when he finds out Sam has it after Sam rescues him from the Orcs.

That Gollum (also known as Sméagol), he has made the narrative worthwhile with all of his fishes-es and Precioussss, split personality and his extreme defensiveness when called “sneaky.”  There is no feeling sorry for him. He is straight up an evil bastard. I caught myself for a split second not appreciating Sam putting that rope around Gollum and then I remembered how Gollum originally came by the ring.

On Sméagol’s birthday, he and his relative Déagol went fishing in the Gladden Fields north of Lothlórien. There, Déagol found the Ring after being pulled into the water by a fish. Sméagol demanded it as a birthday present and strangled Déagol when the latter refused him. Sméagol accordingly used the Ring for thieving, spying and antagonizing his friends and relatives.

What a great guy.

And if that is not bad enough, Gollum takes Frodo and Sam to Shelob hoping that once she eats them all gone she will puke the ring (his precious) and he will get it back. That’s why it is so damn funny that Anglachel (I think she was the first person to dub Obama, Precious) calls Obama Precious. Gollum (the left who supported Obama) have the nerve to call themselves the Creative Class. As if. The people who can stand back, view the larger picture and see how the Josh Marshall’s of the world are Gollum and Obama is Precious who are truly creative.

Again, I am sorry for being slow, but that analogy is some funny shit.

7 Comments
  1. November 17, 2010 3:45 pm

    When I first read Obama as Precious I appreciated the allusion, not because I knew of the LOTR allusion but I thought people were implying he is precious, you know, like a precious baby boy, a miracle from God! LOL!

  2. November 17, 2010 5:50 pm

    LOL Kitty! (I logged in to my wordpress account especially so that I could ‘like’ this post.)

  3. November 17, 2010 9:31 pm

    You don’t really HAVE to get too deep into this analogy, it makes total sense, I would even say that most democrats are PRECIOUS to the so-called left.

    Thanks for the lulz.

    • November 17, 2010 10:28 pm

      I don’t agree with that. First, one would need to define Democrat. Running under the title does not necessary make one a Democrat. And second, Gollum threw Clinton under the bus and didn’t so much acknowledge McKinney. So, by default, no, not all Democrats are Precious to the Gollum.

      I am enjoying the sideshow though. For instance, how the white Left froth at the mouth about the Palins. That is just funny as hell to me. I happened to wander over to Shakesville today, and like the last time I went there people are talking out of their asses. Apparently The Left is pissed (although they are trying to pretend like they are not) that Right white folks are banning together and voting for Bristol Palin on Dancing With the Stars. I always find it funny how people whine about talent once “their” choice is not winning the game, but think nothing about talent when their choice is winning the game. DWTS contestants are advanced by viewer’s votes (and the judges). Same format American Idol uses. So, yes, a no talented hack can make it all the way to the finals if enough people vote for them. That’s a fact. Suddenly when a side that someone cannot stand is winning, in this case the Republicans, it becomes all a joke. So see, what’s the point if she wins or not, it is a joke anyway. However, it was Shakeville who cried over Adam Lambert. Because why? He is a gay male, and Shakesville is a gay male haven. Just like they stopped blogging about Project Runway in Season 5 the minute it came down to all females. Because you see, it became boring once the gay males were eliminated. But before their candidate was eliminated it was quite important and not ridiculous at all.

      But Palin or no Palin, I think the anger stems from somewhere else. Instead of acting like a brat and saying, “We don’t care who wins that dumb old reality show anyway” they could analyze what is happening with the White Right. Critique why the white right stick with the Palins of the world.

      I can give those racist crackers on the Right one thing, and that is, they stick together, something the White Left cannot do to save their life. The White Left is so busy trying to put “White Trash” in their place that they cannot comprehend the acceptance of the Palins. Let’s forget about the actual politics of the Palins or anyone else and focus on the “white trash” element. To me, the white left is pissed that the white right are able to include their “white trash” for any purpose, including winning a stupid reality show. The white left is so busy trying to distance themselves from their “trash” that they will cut their noses off to spite their faces. Hence, the reason they lose. Any cries about it being just a reality show is transparent as hell. The white left wants to know when they are going to get their cookies, dammit, can’t everyone see, they checked all the blocks. They pretend to be fair with their fake anti-isms, but they just want a pay off without truly including everyone. So in reality, they are really whining about losing a stupid reality show. HAH!

  4. Mary Sunshine permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:31 pm

    I am enjoying the sideshow though.

    Bloody brilliant comment, Kitty.

    I’m grinning from ear to ear.

    😀

Trackbacks

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I « AROOO

Comments are closed.

