Skip to content

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I

November 23, 2010

Of course, I went to see Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows, Part I.  I have to know what the kitties know, don’t I? LOL! Supposedly the first 36 minutes of the film was leaked before the official release.  No harm done, I suppose, other than the potential of mistakenly boring a viewer away.

The beginner of the movie did make me nervous that it would suck the whole 2 1/2 hours.  For one thing, there was not enough time spent on the seven Harrys traveling to the Burrow.  Once they all take off, we only see Harry and Hagrid.  In addition, the way Hedwig dies is not the same as the book.  Harry does not release Hedwig before they start the journey to the Burrow; he keeps her in a cage while he rides in the motorcycle’s sidecar. Having Hedwig give Harry away to the Death Eaters is a complete betrayal of Hedwig’s memory.  Bastards.  Also, since my daughter has not read HP7, she had no clue who Mundungus is, and the film does not really explain him or why the Order is willing to trust him.  The whole time waiting to see who made it to the Burrow safe and George’s lost ear was rushed, horribly so.  The same with Fleur and Bill’s wedding.  I would even say if you haven’t read the book you probably wouldn’t know who was getting married and why they were having a wedding in the middle of imminent danger. Don’t look forward to Harry taking polyjuice potion and masquerading as a red-headed Weasley cousin, because that does not happen.

I do love Scrimgeour played by no other than Bill Nighy. LOL! Why I love that actor is a mystery. Although he did not verbally stammer, he did physically stammer or I should say one could see him holding back his facial stammering.  It was like subcutaneous stammering.  As if the director told him, “Bill if you move one bloody facial muscle without my command, it will be your ass!”  And we all know Nighy didn’t want to blow it since he was feeling a little left out when he had not been cast in the previous six Potter films.  Too bad his character is killed.

Then the journey begins.

Not too much to criticize after that because the movie picks up.  A few minor quibbles overall, like no Victor Klum at the wedding. No arguing and red-herring-ing about the tiara at the wedding.  No complaints about Hermione’s cooking so Hermione can barked back, “Why don’t you cook, you lazy fuck.”  Okay, maybe she didn’t call Ron a lazy fuck but she did question why Harry and Ron expected her to cook.  And no love between Kreacher and Harry.  Everyone knows they reconcile in the book. It would have only taken 15-30 seconds to show Kreacher connecting with Harry.

I do want to mention Sophie Thompson.  I love her. Someone should give her more work! (Actually, I love the whole family.  You must hear her mother’s (Phyllida Law) reading of Virginia Woolf’s, To The Lighthouse)  I loved her since she first played the hypochondriac Mary Musgrove in the Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds version of Persuasion.  She is also the blabbering Miss Bates in the Gwyneth Paltrow’s Emma.  Anyway, the poor woman, along with two other actors had to play voiceless roles.  Together they were the three who Hermione, Ron, and Harry become after drinking the Polyjuice potion in order to enter the Ministry of Magic and find the horcrux-pendant Delores Umbridge is wearing.

5 Comments
  1. November 23, 2010 8:37 pm

    Well, y’all know I will talk about movies if y’all don’t talk about anything else.

    • November 24, 2010 2:44 pm

      Ha. I do plan to see this movie, but the thought of a theater swarmed with brats turns my stomach a bit. So, I might have to wait for a bootleg DVD or something.

      I know I’ve been MIA lately. Sorry about that, co-blogger.

    • November 24, 2010 4:14 pm

      You need to bite the bullet and pay full price. LOL! You know I did and I am cheap as all get out. I did buy my candy from Target beforehand though. Ain’t no way in hell I was going to pay $5 for a box of candy that Target sells for $1. I didn’t have any trouble with brats though. I did when I watched Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince. But I brought my phone this time, and if I got any phone noise like I did last time I was going to post myself right behind the culprit and start fucking with my phone.

  2. la redactora permalink
    November 24, 2010 5:38 pm

    Do you suppose they would notice if the bit of the set in that photo just sort of disappeared one day? I do love ramshackle country houses.

  3. la redactora permalink
    November 24, 2010 5:46 pm

    I haven’t seen the movie yet though. I’m waiting till December break. I have to say I am glad they decided to do it in two parts. Think of all the slicing and dicing of the plot that would have happened if they had done the whole last book in one three hour block. Eesh.
    Then again I am one of those die hards who would only have been happy with one television series per book, and the actors in an ironclad contract, in perpetuity, that broke every child labor law in the books. I don’t care if you’re forty and still a teenager…the show must go on!

Comments are closed.

