Skip to content

Open Thread 70

December 3, 2010

25 Comments
  1. Mary Sunshine permalink
    December 3, 2010 6:59 pm

    Great background for your snowfall. 🙂

  2. December 3, 2010 8:42 pm

    You know that craft store Michael’s. They give out 40% off coupons like it is candy, but you know it can only be 40% off items that are not currently on sale (even it is a 2% off sale), and that is practically everything that anyone would want. Just like the 50% off framing coupon, when the framing is like a billzillion dollars at the beginning.

  3. December 4, 2010 1:38 am

    Tomorrow I am braizing a Chicken. I’m going to stuff the chicken with apple slices and use some fresh rosemary and thyme to season it (salt/pepper too.) Then I’m going to bake some chocolate oreo cupcakes for my youngest sister’s birthday. She LOVES chocolate and should be rather thrilled with it…

  4. December 4, 2010 1:40 am

    I wanna try to make some sweet potato gnocci… failed on it the last time. Baked some bread recently too… some olive oil and parmesean cheese (just a sprinkle of salt) and goddamn was that good. I think I’m going to bake some bread tomorrow too… I friggin LOVE fresh bread, hell I love ALL bread, I love food.

  5. December 4, 2010 2:44 am

    I like crispy skin on chicken so I usually roast, fry, or grill it. What’s the skin like when it’s braised whole? I’ve only ever had braised chicken in smaller pieces.

    And I’m with you on the love of bread and food in general. I went to China Town yesterday, and had the best dim sum and noodles. We also got plenty of snacks from a small bakery/sundry shop for us to nibble on at home.

  6. December 4, 2010 5:56 am

    I had a crappy In and Out burger. Not because it is crappy per se but because I normally have a double and not a single. The single is just too small. But, I had to order a single because I didn’t have the time to stop and eat it properly because I gambled and went through town instead of going all the way around and picking up the freeway to go to a meeting I had at 6:30pm. Well, apparently there is some blasted tree lighting ceremony or something in the town square because fuckers were blocking the intersection, and no one was moving and there were pedestrians every damn where. It took me 20 minutes to go about 1/2 mile. A few times I blared my horn, a wonderful past time that my daughter finds totally amusing because I always tell her that one day, ONE DAY, I will for a fact, press down on my horn all the way, ALL THE WAY, from point A to point B just because. Bastards. I mean what is so fucking great about a tree lighting ceremony. They plug it in and it lights up. OOohhh Aaaahhhhhh.

    • December 4, 2010 5:59 am

      It is like trying to find a parking space at my university when I was in school. And it was not a matter of not wanting to park too far but a matter of no fucking parking space. So one day when I finally made it to class I told the whole damn class, I said, “See that grass right outside the window? Do you see it? One day, ONE DAY, I am going to drive all over campus and drive all up on the grass and just park my shit right there at the window and then just climb right through. Because there is no fucking AC in southern California, none, so the windows are always opened just waiting for people like me to climb through.”

  7. December 4, 2010 8:36 am

    I scored free pizza last night, I was walking alongside one of the canals, smelt something yummy and investigated and it wasa new store testing out people’s reactions to their food. It was some of the best pizza I’ve ever had. I miss having access to cheap vegetarian food and super fresh vegetables and fruit. Also, really miss my friends and my dog and being able to purose around in my room in my underwear and not frreeeze!

    You are all making me hungry.

  8. FAB4Life permalink
    December 4, 2010 9:09 am

    Michael’s is such a rip-off. I was just there yesterday, donating my money for overpriced inferior products.
    Does anyone reading this have any advice re: WordPress vs. Blogger for starting a feminist (trans-critical if that needs saying) blog?
    I’m laughing about driving across the lawn to park under the window. That is just the sort of overt act likely to escape the attention of the authorities. As long as it is a nice car, not a beater.

    • December 4, 2010 9:39 am

      You can pick and choose comment moderation on WordPress. On blogger it is all or none.

      What did you buy from Michael’s. They have three jar candles for $10 the other day. Those candles burn well and I love using the jars after the candle is all gone. Usually one candle is 5.99.

    • FAB4Life permalink
      December 4, 2010 10:35 am

      When you say moderation is “all or none” do you mean that individual comments can’t be edited, or that all comments must be approved or none? Or that one can pick certain approved posters and moderate others (Sorry, clueless- I appreciate your response- I’ve been reading WordPress vs. Blogspot articles but they are not that clear. I’ll look up comment moderation on WP vs/Blogger. I’m especially wondering if one platform is better about censorship if being harassed by complaining tranny swarms). I’m thinking about starting a blog from a butch dyke perspective about (in part) the FTM phenomena. Thank you for answering.
      Michaels- I bought an econo bag of mini glue sticks. Xmas is coming! Must not have been the only one because about eight bins were empty. Luckily the floral design woman told me they still had some in the floral design area. The whole store seemed picked over in pre-holiday crafting frenzy, lol. They were almost nine dollars, my god.

    • FAB4Life permalink
      December 4, 2010 10:39 am

      (econo=enormo)

  9. December 4, 2010 10:04 am

    It was just a plain Magherita Kitty. Perfect cheese ratio, a couple of flecks of tomato and it had spinach, or pesto or something green on it and it was wood-fired. I’ve been trying to stay away from pizza on my holiday cos I tend to eat a shitload of it at home (I find it’s the fastest and easiest way for me to get my veggies for the day) so this was especialy a treat.

    Apologies for the typos cos I am on a crappy hotel room computer/tv and it takes at least five minutes for it to catch up with what I’ve actually written haha.

    BTw, if anyone here goes to Amsterdam, go check out the Women’s Movement/Liberation Museum. Except, it’s not realy a museum, more like a gigantic library with nearly every womyn’s lib/feminist piece of writing ever, the best day I have ever spent.

    • soulsis permalink
      December 4, 2010 12:02 pm

      Ooohh. I LOVE pizza!! (Bread) lol

      I went to this place in my old childhood neighborhood over the summer and had some of the best magherita pizza EVER! I loved it.

      Had some veal yesterday… felt all guilty but it was really good. A great chef I kno was cookin and she asked me to taste. She’s classically (french) trained and the veal was prepared blanc or blond or somn like that either way it means white, I thought it was chicken!! Lol so tender and moist. Had no idea anything could b so soft n taste so good.

      Margie, I would sear the skin first and then braise in no liquid. Comes out so juicy and friggin delicious! I’ll take pics lol

      Anyone got any ideas for potatos? Don’t wanna fail at sweet potato gnocci again lol

  10. soulsis permalink
    December 4, 2010 12:04 pm

    WordPress will help u better weed out the real from the fake too. Blogger is overly simple, I feel, and u will be overflowed in trannies with no real way to moderate.

    • December 8, 2010 3:27 pm

      As far as potatoes go, try lime and garlic sautee/roast sprinkling type thing. I had that once a little while ago and it was a great combination.

    • December 8, 2010 3:50 pm

      I’ve never had them with lime, but olive oil, butter, garlic, plenty of lemon juice, and salt/pepper make for great potatoes if you roast them for 45 min to an hour on medium heat, depending on how big your pieces are. I usually use new potatoes cut in half or quarters, but I think just about any kind of potato would work. I don’t normally bother to peel them.

    • December 8, 2010 4:11 pm

      I find zapping them in the microwave with some hot water for about 10 minutes helps to quicken oven roating time also, but I am lazy and often want delicious potatoes ASAP. Next time I think I’ll try pepper with the lime instead, or lemon. Hmm.

      “My chicken came out great, though my mom swore up and down that it wasn’t completely cooked… and kept at it till i left it in so long that it dried out”

      Ah, before I went vego, I used to do that all the time haha. Now I have the same problem, but with tofu, so it tastes even worse if you get it wrong :S

  11. December 4, 2010 12:23 pm

    ‘taking the white woman high road’ is my new favorite phrase of the year.

  12. December 4, 2010 4:00 pm

    just had a discussion on race and privilege with a latina who told me she felt that my “belief” that black women are lowest in the racist hierarchy is hurtful and othering of her history and experience.

    Why must black women inviziblize OUR history and experience so that yours can be validated? But non-white women aren’t privileged? psh It is the absolute TRUTH that latinas, and other non-white women are DEFINITELY higher up on the racist hierarchy and rewarded for non-blackness at the expense of black women. there is no debating that one.

  13. FAB4Life permalink
    December 4, 2010 9:38 pm

    Thanks for the feedback on blog platforms. I like some of the Blogger features but google’s copyright agreements are disturbing, and concensus seems to be that Blogger has shut down blogs suddenly without notice or recourse. That and the fact that I can upload an entire WordPress blog to Blogger later if I change my mind has decided me on WP. Now I have to name the thing. Thanks again.
    Re: racial hierarchy- I cringe at the now ubiquitous term “people of color” because it seems like it was invented to invisiblize the distinct experiences of black people. Of course as a white person there is probably something incredibly racist and privileged about my opinion. Or the idea that anyone would want to be subjected to a white person’s thoughts on racism. It really irritates me when white people feel they have the have the authority to speak on race. (Didn’t stop me though, did it? Ha). OK now I’ve embarrassed myself.

    • December 4, 2010 9:52 pm

      I meant to talk more about blogger and wordpress. On blogger you cannot edit comments. Unless that has changed. You also cannot moderate individual comments, it is either all comments or none. However, on blogger you can have more animated type things such as music.

Comments are closed.

