Skip to content

Open Thread 73

December 31, 2010

10 Comments
  1. joankelly6000 permalink
    January 1, 2011 1:40 am

    My Hercules gets called “Snow Shoes” because of his huge white bunny-lookin’ feet. I feel like he and this rabbit would like each other.

  2. January 1, 2011 4:02 am

    Oh my god, we’ve spent the past several days looking for a power converter/transformer so that we could use foreign appliances here in the states. Everyone kept saying that Radio Shack was the only place, and Radio Shack is so outrageously expensive. And then I remembered Sears. So, we’re returning the Radio Shack shit so I can get my arm and leg back and then we’re going to get it from Sears instead. The savings are almost 50%. It’s just a matter of whether or not they’re going to have what we need in the store, or whether we’ll have to order it online for in-store pick-up. I just wanted to pass along the tip: if ever you’re looking for something that could be had at Radio Shack, try Sears instead. Unbelievable.

    • January 1, 2011 7:45 am

      omfg I had to do that with a friend of mine who was visiting from the UK this past week.

      AND YES WE WENT TO RADIO SHACK. holy hell. It wasn’t too expensive though. Whatever, my friend was the one paying for it.

      Why on Earth are people all over the world using different kinds of sockets? The inefficiency is immense.

      This is why women should rule.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 3, 2011 5:17 pm

      I remember having to get one of those: yes, $$$ive. And then the prong-connector thingies that have 4 or 5 possibilities. Oh, and phone cords & jacks.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 3, 2011 5:21 pm

      Another thing: the appliance *itself* may be switchable from 220 to 120/110. Several of mine were. Then you only have the wall-socket adaptor to deal with.

      This information may be coming too late for you.

      But ***YAY !!!!!!!!!!!! *** you’re here.

      😀

  3. joankelly6000 permalink
    January 1, 2011 7:10 am

    The states!!

    Ernie asked me to ask you if you might be in hugging distance while you’re here…

  4. joankelly6000 permalink
    January 2, 2011 9:14 am

    Oh 2011, I just knew you were going to be dreamy….

    Now if only we could get Mary Sunshine and Soulsis and TBL [I’m assuming my beloved Kitty is a given already?] and and and…to come to the buncha-people-Joan-loves-in-one-place summit, I could die a happy death any time thereafter. Not that I’m in any rush, just saying.

    In the mean time WOOFUCKINGHOOOOOOOOO

    And I promise Armi that I will not let the cats get on her nerves.

    **goes off to bed now dreaming of BBQ’s and Ernie’s smiling face when he sees everyone in person**

  5. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 3, 2011 5:07 pm

    Males have been ruining everything (including the planet) from the beginning of human history. They will accept nothing from females except obedience and praise. Try to live outside those parameters and you end up eating a lot of dust.

  6. January 4, 2011 4:24 am

    We’ve been to a couple of holiday parties, and I have had the *best* time singing on home karaoke systems. I really do love singing. A while back I tried to teach myself to play the guitar so that I could accompany myself, but my fingers are too short 😦

Comments are closed.

