Skip to content

Open Thread 74

January 7, 2011

29 Comments
  1. January 7, 2011 8:20 pm

    I’m almost back! Just give me a few more hours here and there!

  2. January 8, 2011 1:49 am

    This morning when I was driving I was thinking how it is about my time to host an Open Thread and I was pondering what picture I would use and the perfect picture came to mind when I thought about 2010 and how for the first time in my life I can relate to those people who are so over a previous year. Usually I am just like, “How can the whole year be that bad that one would want to wish a year to be over and forgotten.” Then I thought about 2010 and agreed that I can so totally relate. Then a picture came to mind, but I was driving and by the time I made the Open Thread the picture was forgotten. I guess it went poof with 2010. Just erase it out of your mind!

    • January 8, 2011 10:32 am

      I feel the same way about 2010… it can just disappear into the abyss for all I care. 🙂

  3. January 8, 2011 3:10 am

    Saturday is my birthday! YAY!

    Lets hope this year isn’t a fucking mess and I can get some shieeeeeet done.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 8, 2011 8:33 am

      NuclearNight:

      🙂 🙂 🙂 Happy Birthday ! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • January 9, 2011 12:41 am

      Many happy returns! 🙂

  4. January 8, 2011 7:27 am

    Hi, I’m wondering if anyone can recommend good films focusing on black women and/or other women of colour (and girls).

    Have a good weekend and all the best for the new year everyone.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 8, 2011 9:31 pm

      Hi,

      I just read a NYT article (http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/08/movies/08urban.html) about a film made by a black American woman which is black-female themed.

      Ava DuVernay at a screening of her film “I Will Follow,” which will be the first to benefit from a campaign to widen the distribution of black-themed films.

      … is the caption for the accompanying photo.

      Much more detail in the article.

    • Grace permalink
      January 9, 2011 7:48 pm

      Here is a great documentary about the lives and experiences of black lesbians – Black Womyn:


      http://blackwomynfilm.wordpress.com/

      Another documentary by GEMS in NYC – Very Young Girls, about the sexual exploitation and trafficking of girls. All sharing their life stories are young black preteens and teens.

      http://www.gems-girls.org/get-involved/very-young-girls

      If I think of any more I’ll share.

      I’ve been reading AROOO and other radical feminist and lesbian writings for a few months now. A lifelong lesbian friend of mine shared this site and some others with me, and it has been greatly helpful in addressing ideological isolation. Being a Khmer american lesbian there is not much representation and shared experiences in my community and online. So I appreciate the various perspectives that are available from other non-white and lesbian women. Thanks

    • January 17, 2011 7:25 am

      Late reply but thanks for the suggestions. Rabbit-Proof Fence is the only one I’ve seen (very moving) and I have been meaning to watch The Colour Purple as well as the GEMS one. Will definitely check these out. Has anyone seen Daughters of the Dust? La redactora mentioned it to me not too long ago but I haven’t had a chance to see it yet.

  5. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 8, 2011 8:36 am

    There’s lots to love about that chair, but mainly the *upholstery tacks*.

  6. January 8, 2011 8:37 am

    Kitty I feel exactly the same way – I never understood hating a *whole year*, and I’ve had some fucked up years. I know so many people who feel this way about the past year – couldn’t get away from 2010 fast enough.

    I think also part of why I never really felt that way is that I don’t physically or psychically feel any different between December 31st and January 1st, I mean I don’t have some experience of time feeling like anything, if that makes sense. But 2010 just felt like it was cursed or something.

    For anyone who that isn’t true for, I’m glad (and I think I know a couple people who it’s been a pretty good year for them, so I stop short of total hatred for 2010 on that account).

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 8, 2011 8:04 pm

      Well, if you think 2010 was bad, just wait until 2012 which is now being forecast as TEOTWAWKI.

  7. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 8, 2011 9:33 pm

    One of many excruciating ironies in all this.

  8. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 8, 2011 11:12 pm

    Soulsis, yes, I can understand that. {{{ Soulsis’ grandmother }}}

  9. January 9, 2011 12:49 am

    (((soulsis)))

    there are things in this world that mean more than the ideal. And your values and culture are all you have.

    That’s really true.

  10. Pseudoadrienne permalink
    January 9, 2011 1:13 am

    You’re description of the U.S. and how it effected your grandmother is very apt, soulsis. “The land of white, hetero, capitalist/corporate, Christian, jingoist dreams” (especially if you’re male), and fuck you if you don’t fit the profile, or kowtow to these “ideals” and its power structure. It’s wonderful that your grandmother was able to hold on to her cultural values despite being exposed to the arrogant, superficial, classist, xenophobic U.S. culture. She clearly didn’t smoke the Yankee opium which is why her identity and spirit were able to survive the “American dream”.

  11. joankelly6000 permalink
    January 9, 2011 5:38 am

    Soulsis I hope your grandmother has a safe return home, I wish it wasn’t painful for you at the same time.

    Happy birthday NuclearNight!

    Mary it feels like there’s been so many ends of things I thought I had known that 2012 can pre-emptively kiss my ass.

  12. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 9, 2011 3:16 pm

    Somebody making chicken soup downstairs.

    Smells so good. 🙂

    • Pseudoadrienne permalink
      January 9, 2011 4:13 pm

      Nice. I wish my neighbors would quit burning things and learn how to cook. I’m afraid my apartment is going to burn down because some idiot doesn’t know how to microwave popcorn correctly.

  13. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 9, 2011 8:01 pm

    Rats, I just had a crown-on-a steel-post fall out of my head. (Top front). That’s what I get for eating figs that were on special 88 cents for 8 oz.

    Now I’m in for a multi hundred $$$ dentists bill.

    Kitty, so *that’s* why I’m gonna have to go up to the Cat centre. If he can’t see me tomorrow, it’ll be soon. I’ll check my snailmail then.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 9, 2011 8:40 pm

      Thanks, ((( Soulsis ))). No pain at all. It was a root-canalled tooth, with no living parts. The steel post just slid right out.

      It was the leverage of trying to bite into the fig. The force vectors in the fig were stronger than those holding the (dead, crowned) tooth in place.

      No pain at all.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 10, 2011 10:37 pm

      Hi Margaret,

      I was eating the dried figs right out of the package, no soaking them or anything. Just pigging out & tearing them with my teeth. You can’t do that with a root canalled tooth. *sigh*. But I love tearing things apart with my teeth. I also love not having to cook stuff. 😛

      I’m heading up to the dentist tomorrow morning with the tooth in a little green box, and my knitting in my knitting bag for the bus ride. Today I put a $150 deposit into my credit card – just for starters.

      What I suspect is that if I want to use that front biting tooth for actually *biting* is that I’ll have to get an implant. Bang goes $4,000. Good thing that a year ago my apartment was destroyed by fire, and that (I found out to my surprise) I had insurance.

  14. January 10, 2011 1:33 am

    Level Best, series start tonight! Sorry, I have been meaning to give more notice. Or perhaps you know already.

    • Level Best permalink
      January 10, 2011 7:56 pm

      Thanks, Kitty! I did not know, and I appreciate the news. My workplace was closed for snow today and I suspect will be tomorrow, so it’s a great time to watch TV. 🙂

    • January 10, 2011 7:57 pm

      You can watch the missed episode on-line. Just click the link and follow any commands that say “Watch On-Line.”

  15. Mary Sunshine permalink
    January 10, 2011 6:39 pm

    Someone emailed me some accounts of what’s currently happening to women in Somalia, primarily Mogadishu. Horrifying. I haven’t the heart to copy and paste the stories here.

    If ever an entire female population needed to be airlifted (to where?) it’s them.

    • January 10, 2011 7:20 pm

      God yes I saw some stuff about this today as well. Quite of few of the students at my college are Somali women, and most of them seem to be dealing with horrific ptsd, not that I’m a psychiatrist or anything, but it would be hard to believe most of them didn’t have massive trauma on top of physical injuries, given the stories they have shared.

Comments are closed.

