Skip to content

Open Thread 77

January 28, 2011

14 Comments
  1. January 28, 2011 8:47 pm

    I went to sleep last night in my street clothes. I hate, hate, hate when that happens.

  2. January 28, 2011 9:19 pm

    A republican male from Texas no less, is concerned that the Peace Corps is covering up rape. What will the uncovering of layers reveal? Is an interest agenda driven?

    • January 29, 2011 5:19 am

      Funny you should mention this Fabulous! The interest is probably agenda driven – the Peace Corps recruiting’s pretty big here in the “belly of the beast.” There was a recruiting session held at UTSA two days ago! Can’t get recruits if they’re scared of being raped – and not heard.

  3. January 28, 2011 9:26 pm

    Aw Kitty, I know that feeling.

    I went to sleep last night in my regular sleep clothes, was woken up by tactile hallucinations somewhere in the middle of the night, to the point of being sure my eyes were open (that’s how I prove to myself I’m not dreaming, and also how I comfort myself with the knowledge that if eyes are open, shit’s about to calm down and “ghosts” disappear) and still feeling and seeing and hearing my comforter being tugged on and someone rustling around in the room in general. Had to turn on the light to make it stop. Then accidentally hit “reset” instead of “snooze” when my alarm went off, and was two hours late to work.

    BUT! I’m old so probably this is a repeat (and I will repeat in ten minutes from now that I think I’m repeating this but am going to repeat it anyway) – I got my meat thermometer and I got my dad’s spaghetti and meatball recipe and I am ready to get four kitchen chairs and invite over three people I’d love to feed and see in person! Should the opportunity arise…

    • January 29, 2011 6:31 am

      “…and there can be no rest till lights are on and you go through your apartment with a knife in hand checking shit out and making sure that no one is in there with you.”

      ROFLMBAO, soulsis (Kinship is grand – especially in it’s sameness sometimes! 🙂 I guess I should crawl out of my hole and visit more often)! – because last night (early morning really) around 3:30am, my dog woke me up frantically barking at the front door. Scared shitless (the husband’s still away “serving his country”) AND, realizing I did NOT have a knife in the bedroom to have in hand, I took a candle off the pointed end of a tall, iron-like candle holder and headed out there to make sure no one was in here but us (figured I could take an eyeball out at arm’s length – provided they had no gun!).

      After creeping up to the peephole in the dark and checking to make sure nobody was out there fuckin’ around, I yelled at her (scaring the hell out of her, for scaring the hell out of me); switched on all the lights; got the big chef’s knife out of the drawer in the kitchen (got rid of the knife block on the counter – not providing easy access to weapons of opportunity anymore!); and took my ass back to bed!

  4. January 28, 2011 10:24 pm

    Deb, last night when I heard the news that a Republican from Texas was concerned about women being raped in the Peace Corps, my first knee-jerk reaction was, “And that from the great State of Texas!” No one but someone from/lived/borne in the great State of Texas can truly understand all the connotations and contradictions associated with saying (writing) “great” in front of “state of Texas.’ LMAO! It makes my tongue tingle every time I say it, and my shoulders shiver every time I hear (read) it. O’ Texas Texas Texas, how I love thee (warts and all).

    • January 29, 2011 6:05 am

      “No one but someone from/lived/borne in the great State of Texas can truly understand all the connotations and contradictions associated with saying (writing) “great” in front of “state of Texas.’ “ You’re so right about that Fabulous! Just more of that “real American” exceptionalist bullshit.

  5. January 31, 2011 6:43 am

    It is becoming increasingly harder for me to muster interest and/or concern regarding political unrest in other countries, because I cannot trust that the Great Super Power, the United States of America did not orchestrate the unrest for superpower interest. To be concerned and/or to feel indifferent both make me feel like a puppet.

  6. Mary Sunshine permalink
    February 2, 2011 7:49 pm

    If you really want to know what’s going on in Egypt, try http://english.aljazeera.net/watch_now/

    That’s what I’m staying tuned into. The western media are really useless, except for Kristof’s blog at the NYT.

Comments are closed.

