Skip to content

Open Thread 78

February 5, 2011



9 Comments
  1. Mary Sunshine permalink
    February 6, 2011 12:15 am

    Oh, yes! That picture.

    ** disappears into it **

  2. la redactora permalink
    February 6, 2011 7:33 pm

    “Can’t wait for this term to be over!”
    Hear hear.

    Is that picture from New Zealand?

    Also, dear god, I think hell has come full-circle:

    And finally, because this comment is just a bunch of non sequiturs, I’ll hand out one of my few pearls of wisdom to the arooo reading public:

    When you expose your electronic devices to water, they will no longer work in the manner to which you have been accustomed.

  3. Mary Sunshine permalink
    February 8, 2011 2:52 pm

    Check this out and see if you don’t feel better:

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/8310530/Handbag-wielding-grandmother-first-interview-somebody-had-to-do-something.html

    😀 😀 😀

  4. February 10, 2011 6:19 pm

    Posts will not be deleted just because. Too many female authors erase their work.

  5. February 10, 2011 6:30 pm

    I am not fighting with either of you. Margie had no right to delete her post without consulting with us first. That is the end of the discussion.

    And you do have access, you can always copy and paste.

  6. February 10, 2011 6:41 pm

    Look Soulsis, I sent you an email. I am not talking about it. I wasn’t the one who started deleting posts. It was a group blog that group authors agreed on. I will not be an active part of a public spectacle. So, that is that. I will no longer respond.

    ETA: And if Margie would have communicated to me that she had a new blog, I wouldn’t have been worried about the posts being erased. But as it stands, she did not, so, to me it looked as if the posts were being deleted forever.

  7. Mary Sunshine permalink
    February 10, 2011 6:52 pm

    From a place having nothing whatsoever to do with AROOO, it’s true that as soon as you upload anything to the internet, – – email, irc chat, usenet, http, – – it’s out of your hands forever.

    That’s a reality that isn’t a beef with anybody or anything.

    I reconciled myself to that long ago, with respect to anything that I’ve launched into cyberspace.

    Moving down one layer of abstraction, as far as phpBB forums and wordpress blogs go: (oh, isn’t retrospect wonderful?) anybody who figures they have an author’s stake in such a place owes it to herself to back up the entire thread history in which she has participated or been mentioned. If she figures she may want future reference to it.

    If you have admin access, you can do a nightly backup of the whole thing.

    Margie leaving drives me to tears. A comet races across the night sky. Will I ever see another?

  8. February 11, 2011 4:04 am

    What is that picture of? It is gorgeous!!!

  9. February 11, 2011 4:08 am

    I don’t know where the picture was taken, however, in Google Images it is very popular image under “Serene Nature Walk.”

Comments are closed.

