Skip to content

There Are Still People In This World Who Have Not Forgotten Themselves

February 19, 2011

I have a new friend, a woman whose duties sort of parallels mine in our volunteer organization, though hers is administrative and mine is operational.  I knew she was having a biopsy the other day, but I didn’t think much of it.  Today she tells me she has to quit because she will be having surgery and then radiation treatment.  She is somewhat young.  According to the internet, her prognosis is among the best. Nevertheless.

In a world in which “familiarity breeds contempt” and “absence makes the heart grow stronger” and silver replaces gold and people flippantly say they love you and then treat you like dirt and others assign the friend moniker  quicker than a rabbit shits; what does one do with this type of information?

One Comment
  1. February 19, 2011 7:06 am

    Then there is the shame and horror of knowing that my first thought was if I was going to be expected to incorporate her workload.

Comments are closed.

