Skip to content

Uptown Downstairs Abbey (A Parody, If You Haven’t Noticed)

March 20, 2011


12 Comments
  1. la redactora permalink
    March 21, 2011 2:02 am

    Euugh, how common!

    Dame Maggie Smooth…

    • March 21, 2011 5:45 pm

      Don’t you like how they are clowning Fellowes?

    • la redactora permalink
      March 22, 2011 2:27 am

      Oh I loved it. One of the things I enjoy about “British” television is that it occasionally makes fun of the rich, something that just about never happens in American television. I’ve seen it in books, but never on the tv.

  2. jilla permalink
    March 21, 2011 5:32 am

    Phewwggh. Carter the Butler is Hilary the Vicar in Clatterford. Jam.

  3. jilla permalink
    March 21, 2011 4:45 pm

    Sorry about that. I thought I was just putting in a link, and the whole thing embedded. Eeep. Anyway, it embedded the wrong link. I had thought I was putting in young Dr. Vine and his former headmistress, in his office for her gyne exam.

  4. la redactora permalink
    April 26, 2011 10:56 pm

    A different kind of parody.

    http://www.hulu.com/embed/J1BJ2ezwoNUDhu9nyQUwFQ

  5. la redactora permalink
    April 27, 2011 1:36 am

    So who do you think they were mocking in that? I thought it was Americans, but now I’m not sure.

  6. April 27, 2011 2:03 am

    That is hilarious. I especially like when the “wife” at the end says, “What?” I suppose they are mocking Americans in the sense that Americans complain that they don’t know what British people are saying. They could be mocking themselves, but, I think most British people know what each other are saying even when their dialects are terribly different. Those jokes about needing the subtitles are hilarious. I do love my subtitles. But, I understand way more “British” than most Americans. I think using the subtitles have perfected my ear.

    I only wish the Americans could poke at themselves the way the British can.

    • la redactora permalink
      April 27, 2011 2:41 am

      I think the only real British person there was Russell Brand, or did I miss someone else?

      Regardless, I agree with you in sentiment about the self-mockery.

      “But, I understand way more “British” than most Americans.”
      Yes, I have been called upon by many to “translate.” The only time I have ever had an issue was watching Red Road, and it was slight.

      Now, non-southern U.S. urbanites are a different issue. They talk too quickly/differently and one doesn’t get the luxury of subtitles in real life.

  7. Mary Sunshine permalink
    April 29, 2011 6:49 pm

    I find British humour such a relief.

Comments are closed.

