Skip to content

Coming to Theatres in September, 2011

September 5, 2011

6 Comments
  1. la redactora permalink
    September 6, 2011 6:52 pm

    Awe, cool. Especially the BPM, because I haven’t been able to find much about that time that didn’t focus on whites. What little I have seen that focuses on blacks always seems to amount to an elaborate historical exercise of “purse clutching*”.

    *I’m not really fond of that phrase, but I don’t know of one that is “gender neutral.”

  2. la redactora permalink
    September 6, 2011 6:52 pm

    Also “momentary historical smoking.” OH NO!

  3. September 6, 2011 11:43 pm

    That Thunder Soul brings back memories. When I was a school-aged kid, adolescent, and teenager, spanning from 1969-1981, nothing announced Fall/Autumn and the return to school better than the high school band. We lived in the center of a triangle of three black/predominately-black high school bands. Kashmere High School was one of those bands. I can feel their sense of nostalgia and loss (to a certain extent) because what they had in 1978, I don’t believe exists anymore. Actually, I would say 1978 was the pinnacle. There were a few more good years after that but the actual music gave way to the new trend of hot-dogging drum majors and the like. It was just beautiful, just beautiful. In that setting, the heat of the summer had faded, the ground would be cooler earlier, the streetlights would come on sooner and the bands would be heard in the background. Sometimes, there were even impromptu competitions. High schools easily five miles apart were taking their turns to blast at each other while the entire neighborhood stopped to listen. A beautiful and natural call and response that cannot be rehearsed. The closest sentiment I have ever witnessed since is how “rednecks” in the military are choked up over evening colors (when the flags are brought down for the night). The very comparison reveals a hierarchy. One culture has to find solace in the local, while the other assumes the national. Or something like that. Thoughts are firing my synapses, but I am not quite sure how I want to formulate the comparison.

  4. la redactora permalink
    September 7, 2011 3:38 am

    It sounds lovely. School bands are something I associate with football. Perhaps because my school was not large enough to really have a full, decent band, and also did not have football. Who knows.

    “One culture has to find solace in the local, while the other assumes the national.”
    This makes sense.

  5. la redactora permalink
    September 7, 2011 11:42 am

    “Football shmootball” 🙂 That is exactly my thinking on the whole matter.

Comments are closed.

