Skip to content

Crochet Scarf

November 25, 2011

For the record, this pattern is flipped backwards. I’m not sure, but I think it has something to do with copyright. At least that is what people do with pictures to respect the copyright. And, I took a picture of the finished end of the scarf, not the beginning end. So glad so many people like it!

I used the below pattern I found on google images. I love using visual patterns over written patterns.


I did add a chain edging along three sides that was not part of the pattern.

Here is  a picture of this scarf using another color in the horizontal instead of the vertical.   I enjoy when others share their work.

 

15 Comments
  1. Mary Sunshine permalink
    November 26, 2011 8:12 am

    Beautiful, Kitty. I love the symmetry of the pattern. And as an added bonus, there are 5-pointed stars at the “crossroads” visible in the photos which are not apparent in the chart. the colour is delicious.

    • November 26, 2011 12:04 pm

      The yarn is Caron Simply Soft, DK Country Blue. At first, I didn’t think it was much to write home about. I only grabbed it because it was on sale, a very good sale. However, this is my second scarf and each time I only had about twenty stitches left before I had to go into a second skein. Each skein is 315 yards. It may be the type of stitches too. Usually a scarf takes two skeins minimum, sometimes three. I don’t want to get too skimpy, but out here, a heavy scarf is not that useful. And, this dark country blue is so much prettier in the finished product than wrapped in the skein, so that has been an added bonus.

      I am going to find a pattern with one of those pretty five-point flowers. Those are always nice.

  2. la redactora permalink
    November 26, 2011 6:40 pm

    Yes, navy or “country” blue is one of my favorite colors. Am I the only one who sees sea-shells in there?

  3. November 26, 2011 10:02 pm

    That is a lovely scarf. The pattern is also really cool. I had no idea there were patterns out there in picture. So much easier to understand! Really cements that I’m going to get around to teaching myself to crochet. I’ve been knitting quite a bit lately, got some nice cowls made this year.

  4. Mary Sunshine permalink
    November 27, 2011 12:28 am

    Sea shells all over the place, La Red.

    🙂

    • la redactora permalink
      November 27, 2011 8:54 am

      :-).

  5. K - Kitchen Bitch permalink
    May 6, 2013 6:03 am

    This scarf is beautiful. I don’t suppose you’d be willing to post stitch counts? I have trouble reading the visual pattern alone. Thanks!

  6. May 28, 2013 4:46 pm

    This is the straight version of the south bay shawl. I had been searching for it, so was very pleased to come across this.

  7. September 14, 2013 10:30 am

    Beautiful scarf, love lacy crochet. I learn better with the symbol craft crochet.Words get my mind overwhelmed. Thanks for sharing : )

  8. November 15, 2013 3:03 pm

    Would like verbal directions, have never learned to crochet using the picture method.
    thanks

  9. January 27, 2014 2:36 pm

    I’m with Pat. Guess it depends on how your learn in the first place. I hate it when there aren’t both versions….makes me sad:(

  10. December 17, 2015 4:55 pm

    It’s Amazing Thanks For Share it ❤

  11. January 4, 2016 5:42 pm

    Hi there (I’m a bit late to the party – I just found this pattern), but I think I could translate a written version of this pattern, if anyone is still interested?? 🙂

Comments are closed.

