Skip to content

Carol of the Bells

December 23, 2011

As I have mentioned before, [When I first wrote that post, I had at least seven videos. I wonder what happened to them over time] my most favorite Christmas song of all time is Carol of the Bells (recognized by a four-note ostinato motif). It is difficult for me to pick a favorite anything so I surprised myself years ago when I was able to pinpoint a favorite Christmas song. We have a family tradition of finding a showing of The Christmas Carol on stage, within a reasonable driving distance, and so far, in the last eight years we have gone four times. Each time, Carol of the Bells is the song used to open the production.

However, I feel that my favorite Christmas Song is slowly suffering irreparable soiling. What was once a beautiful tune created by the Ukrainian composer Mykola Leontvych to celebrate the coming of Spring has now become the standard go to tune for lazy ad-men. I mean honestly, from Target, to Lexus, to now, Victoria’s Secret (There is no longer a secret left; all is displayed to see).

Nature>>>Christianity>>>>Consumerism>>>>>Oversaturation.

Is there any justice in this worldZOMGS!!!!!!111111

I am enough of a sport to take the parodies, but the out and out blatant appropriation for consumerism is just too much to bear, —leave it alone. LEAVE CAROL OF THE BELLS ALONE! LEAVE IT ALONE, I TELL YOU!!!!!!!!!! The next person who creates a Christmas ad with Carol of the Bells needs to be thrown in a well. IN A DEEP WELL!

You bastards.

The Muppets, I will forgive:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Sunshine permalink
    December 24, 2011 3:12 am

    By a Ukrainian girls choir. Enjoy! 😀

  2. la redactora permalink
    February 19, 2012 12:28 pm

    Spring is coming, at least in these parts. I was coming to post this

    But I like Mary’s version more :-).

  3. Mary Sunshine permalink
    February 25, 2012 6:42 am

    Gorgeous!!! Thank you so much 😀

Leave a Reply

