Skip to content

The Price of Kindle* Books

April 5, 2012

I think the prices for most Kindle books are just too expensive and frankly, exploitative. When an electronic transfer is only one to two dollars cheaper than a paperback copy (in some cases, the same amount), then what explains all the rhetoric about cutting down the expense of printing presses, paper, binding, warehouses, boxes, etc? Is the expense of an electronic transfer only one to two dollars less than the cost of paper, warehouse space, printing, binding, etc.?

Until prices get better I will stick to only “buying” the books that cost “0.00.” In other words, mostly works published before 1900.

*The Kindle was a Christmas gift a few years back. Although I like using it, I am still not sure if I would have bought one on my own.

4 Comments
  1. la redactora permalink
    April 5, 2012 7:33 pm

    Kindle is the devil! Etc.

    For me it is not “reading” unless I can underline and write in the margins.

    And (now she gets the real reason) I have no self-control when it comes to book buying. If I got a Kindle I would probably empty my bank account in a week. The temptation would be too strong, which, of course, is just the way Amazon likes it.

  2. April 12, 2012 10:28 am

    I knew that pricing didn’t seem fair/right.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-17681137

    Apple is EVIL!

  3. June 12, 2012 1:57 pm

    I have about three or four thousand books, mostly hardcovers, lining the walls of almost every room except the bathroom and kitchen, and I have two Kindles. Never thought I’d like an ereader, but got a gift from a woman friend and never looked back. I even bought a Kindle Touch later on. And I still buy mostly hardcover real books. And I am at least a decade, possibly two, behind in reading all that. Books are a comfort in a way that Kindles et al can never be. But I read faster on Kindles. I’ll die happily in one of my book-lined rooms, but cannot conceive of dying in a blank room with a Kindle in my hand.

    • June 12, 2012 2:03 pm

      I do love my hard cover books. And I’m still ready to rant about Kindle. I just went to Amazon to look for the Irvine book you recommended. Hard cover $13.57, Kindle 10.00. Why on earth would I risk losing that book for $3. Lose it I will, if I don’t keep up (buy) all the technology I will need to continue to access my Kindle as it changes.

Comments are closed.

