Skip to content

First World Situation: Blueberries

May 30, 2012

Upon discovering that my daughter ate her peanut butter and jelly sandwich first and then was too full to eat the blueberries that were packed in her lunch, the very blueberries that were no longer any good after sitting in her lunch bag, via her backpack hung on a hook outside her classrooms, in the direct sunlight, all day, she was thoroughly chastise.

“Do you know, I didn’t eat a fresh blueberry until I was in my twenties? There are people in the world, in this country, who will go through life without the opportunity of ever having a fresh blueberry to eat? Do you know how much those blueberries cost? Why do you think the containers they come in are so small? Tomorrow, you will eat the blueberries first, and then the sandwich.  Capish?”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Sunshine permalink
    May 31, 2012 10:14 am

    I eat blueberries every day because I have macular degeneration. If you save her blueberries for some time when she’s ravenously hungry and *then* give them to her, she’ll eat them.

    When my daughter was in elementary school I used to do that: as soon as she got in the house, squash and broccoli, with butter. At no other time would she eat it – then she did, the whole lot.

    • May 31, 2012 4:43 pm

      Good one, Mary. Most of the time she is pretty good but depending on what else she has to tempt her, the fruits and veggies go out the window. For example, a potato. If a potato is around, then forget about everything else.

      I love when I get a good batch of blueberries. Most of the time I do. Unlike strawberries. Those are hit or miss.

Leave a Reply

