Skip to content

The Best Word of the Day, EVER!

July 1, 2012

Word of the Day for Sunday, July 1, 2012

mumpsimus \MUHMP-suh-muhs\, noun:

1. Adherence to or persistence in an erroneous use of language, memorization, practice, belief, etc., out of habit or obstinacy.
2. A person who persists in a mistaken expression or practice.

“I profess, my good lady,” replied I, “that had any one but you made such a declaration, I should have thought it as capricious as that of the clergyman, who, without vindicating his false reading, preferred, from habit’s sake, his old Mumpsimus…
— Sir Walter Scott, The Talisman

Mr. Burgess, who sticks (I fancy) to his old mumpsimus, thought that the other gentleman might have given the canoe a shove to get it clear of the lock…
— Ronald A. Knox, The Footsteps at the Lock

Mumpsimus comes from a story (perhaps first told by Erasmus) about an illiterate priest who mispronounced a word while reciting the liturgy. The priest refused to change the word, even when he was corrected.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Sunshine permalink
    July 1, 2012 12:34 pm

    Must remember to throw that in to the ongoing tranny flame wars. 🙂

    • July 1, 2012 12:45 pm

      Ha-ha-hee, my thoughts exactly! It just captures the persistence of those men perfectly, doesn’t it?

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      July 1, 2012 1:09 pm

      And also of their female enablers 😛

    • July 1, 2012 1:48 pm

      I can’t look at that poor child with her breast hanging out yapping about sexing trannies without thinking about how disappointed she must be that the patriarchy failed her.

      Call them fag hags, fruit flies or what have you but she is the typical fag-hag woman who failed to compete with the heterosexual “supermodels” of the world or at the very least the “passably pretty” heterosexual women who snag “decent” men, so in her quest for intimacy she settled for trannies. How terribly sad. The more she yapped the more I thought of “The lady doth protest too much, methinks.” It is very lesbophobic and not anti-hetero at all.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      July 1, 2012 2:11 pm

      Sometimes it feels as if someone has plonked a pan over my head and is beating it with a metal spoon.

      When it all gets too much for me, I take refuge in hacker forums and geeky websites.

      My knitting gathers dust. I’m too strung out to do it. However, I am making moussaka. The power of transformation. Food packs a more heavy duty punch that way than does knitting.

      On a positive note, my case of mangoes is ripening, and I’m eating them, and stashing sliced mango in the freezer. The transformative power of The Female.

  2. Mary Sunshine permalink
    July 1, 2012 2:12 pm

    Repetitive in my old age …

    • la redactora permalink
      July 4, 2012 6:15 pm

      She seemed pretty to me. Or do you mean because of her weight?

    • July 4, 2012 7:54 pm

      Her weight is one small aspect, but I mean an overall essence. Fag hags seem to be these tough talkers who act like they are down with opposing constructs but actually I think they are lazy, and lesbophoic and do nothing more but re-enforce the same ol’ constructs. Too lazy to fight the good fight against the heterosexual mode, too lazy to compete with the heterosexual mode, but unwilling to be a lesbian. But they have found a niche with trannies with penises who want to have sex with women (PIV). The competition is so limited that they can be the queen bee with little to no problem. The setup is still safely heterosexual, however.

    • la redactora permalink
      July 4, 2012 8:51 pm

      Okay, that makes sense. Thanks. I have said it before and felt mean, but yes, it is a half-assed political shortcut for straight women to associate themselves with gay men in that way–an attempt to make themselves more interesting. Now they call themselves “queer.” Please.

  3. July 1, 2012 2:26 pm

    At this very second I am navigating Cauliflower soup and pork chops with cornbread dressing. The porkchops and dressing is for today and the soup is for the week. For the last couple of months I have been trying to cook everything without anything packaged. That means a lot of chopping. I feel smug :)(cooking from scratch and all), hence, it is my therapy.

  4. July 1, 2012 2:30 pm

    Speaking of mangoes. They are fantastic. Yum. I just finished watching a series called “Life.” It’s about a cop who goes to prison for 12 years for murders he did not commit. When he gets out and gets his job back he eats a whole bunch of fruit all the time, –because fruit was not available in prison. When he is eating a mango he apologizes for the smell if it is offensive. He says, ‘Some people say it smells like sick, puke, throwup…’ (I cannot remember the exact word he uses. I don’t think it really has that smell even though I do know what smell he is talking about. In Hawai’i, the Jack fruit smell like stank, really bad.

    On another note, I ate a pineapple this week (all by myself) that was so sweet and good it was like candy. I had to drink water between bites it was so great.

  5. Mary Sunshine permalink
    July 1, 2012 3:31 pm

    I’m living on so much fruit this summer. It is cheap now, and so much more fun to eat than veggies, plus not all the food prep.

    Then my own homemade yogurt: more female / growth transformation.

    Hehehe … and my new snack food: natural peanut butter mixed with an equal quantity of ground flax seeds. Make up a whole jar full of it and then eat it throughout the week. The ground flax seeds keep it from sticking to the inside of your mouth.

    • July 1, 2012 3:40 pm

      I will have to try flax seeds, I don’t think I ever have. Is it a sweet taste or bitter? How would you compare them to sesame seeds.

      I just read how Canada produces the most flax seed in the world.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      July 1, 2012 3:49 pm

      They’re pretty tasteless, beyond being pleasantly nutty. I grind them in a simple cheap coffee grinder. They shouldn’t be more than $1 a pound. The ground seeds swell in your stomach, kind of like chia seeds, but they are a fraction of the price of chia seeds. The whole seeds store well at room temperature for a year, but after being ground need refrigeration.

  6. Mary Sunshine permalink
    July 1, 2012 3:52 pm

    Yes, flax seed is grown for industrial uses, which is why it’s so cheap. Sure, you can pay way too much for it at the health food store, but I get it at bulk barn for 77 cents a pound.

  7. la redactora permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:11 pm

    Mumpsimus! Oh, that should become a synonym, or maybe a subcategory, for “academentia.” Or economist!

    And I spent the week with Republicans and conservative Democrats. Double triple the mumpsimus fun.

    Certainty that one is right, and always right, and persisting despite evidence to the contrary is a symptom of entitlement–an attitude of privilege–or sometimes just idiocy or childishness, I will cede.

Leave a Reply

