Skip to content

Corporate Conscription: No, I don’t fucking want to ROUND UP!

July 25, 2012

I just want to pay for my carefully selected groceries, –a minefield to say the least since I have to navigate food additives, HFCS, processed foods, overpriced foods, organic, non-organic, dyed meat, hormone pumped chickens, with my budget and menu and so on, and feel okay about the money that I spend.

Shopping for food can be triggering, especially for people who were deprived of food due to excessive poverty.

Shopping for food can be triggering, especially for people whose parents cared little about feeding their children or was too overwhelmed to make food enjoyable.

Shopping for food can be triggering, especially for people who are fat-shamed.

Shopping for food can be triggering, especially for people who can now buy basically whatever they want even though they know the rest of their family cannot, and more than likely the rest of their extended family will not have the privilege of pondering what foods are more beneficial than others.

I don’t want to face a shakedown every time I am giving MY money to a business.

And if it is not that much money, then why don’t the store round down and take the difference off my tab?

If it is simply a question that I should with all maturity, ignore, then why can’t the grocery store simply not ask me the question? Why do I have to tolerate corporate conscription?

More background.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2012 5:02 pm

    The charity is usually always for prostate cancer.

    • July 27, 2012 12:21 pm

      I also don’t give a shit about prostate cancer. And I do not donate to charities. I prefer direct action, without slimeballs skimming off of it.

    • July 27, 2012 1:09 pm

      I have a friend who does that breast cancer walk every year. She makes a big deal out of it. Of course she should. She works hard. She walks long and hard and she fights the good fight collecting money. However, I. Just. Cannot. Give. any money. I contribute by holding my tongue. I too cannot give knowing about the fat cats who are skimming and living the big life off of EMOTIONS. Charity on that scale is a Big Business.

Leave a Reply

