Skip to content

Hippy and Green Ghost

August 6, 2012

Something is going on and I don’t know what and no one has told me anything and I cannot figure it out.  So, I am making ghosts for my grandchildren.  They will get the instructions that they must go for a walk, an autumn walk and look for a nice thick and strong fallen limb.  Not too big but not too little.  After the limb is cleaned off, they must stand it up in a vase and hang the various ghosts.  I have lots of felt and will make many more ghosts including the typical white ones.   When I saw the tie-dyed sheet of felt I thought how a nice funky hippy ghost would be groovy.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 9:20 am

    My daughter tells me that I spelled “hippy” wrong. I told her a hippy/hippie would not care.

  2. la redactora permalink
    August 6, 2012 5:15 pm

    Those are cute!

    I did a lot of tie-dyeing in the nineties…ahem…

    #everything you never needed to know about my childhood in one sentence or less.

    I hope whatever the thing is turns out okay.

    • August 6, 2012 5:57 pm

      My tie-dying was getting bleach on my clothes as I cleaned.

    • la redactora permalink
      August 6, 2012 7:03 pm

      Bleach is evil.

    • August 6, 2012 7:10 pm

      https://aroomofourown.wordpress.com/2008/01/06/should-bleach-purchases-be-registered/

      No doubt about it. It is evil. My lungs hurt when I even begin to think about opening a bottle of bleach. My usage of it has decreased significantly over the years.

    • la redactora permalink
      August 6, 2012 7:18 pm

      Yes on the lung hurt and also headaches and dizziness. But I am that way around most traditional “cleaning” products. Cleaning products contain dangerous chemicals. Cleaning products are used largely by women, and even more so by women on the lowest rungs of society. Connection? I bet.

    • August 6, 2012 7:26 pm

      There was an episode of some American crime show (I cannot remember which now) that had a dead housekeeper. Apparently she had died of years and years of waxing a floor using some chemical-wax stuff that builds up in your lungs. The New York Wasps were made aware of this after she came back from the doctors before she was terribly ill but they were unwilling to sacrifice their beautiful floors because they had become known for having the most beautiful floors. She was in the country illegally and had no other choice or they were holding her prisoner or something along that storyline….

    • la redactora permalink
      August 6, 2012 7:33 pm

      or they were holding her prisoner or something along that storyline….

      That actually happens a lot in this country.

      The New York Wasps were made aware of this after she came back from the doctors before she was terribly ill but they were unwilling to sacrifice their beautiful floors…

      Seriously eff them.

Leave a Reply

