Skip to content

What Has the Internet Done For You?

October 30, 2012

I would like to hear your story.  Feel free to share. Image

7 Comments leave one →
  1. MarySunshine permalink
    October 30, 2012 10:50 am

    The internet has connected me to the global mind. To women, you and so many others, who have kept me alive. ❤

  2. la redactora permalink
    October 30, 2012 3:57 pm

    What Mary said. I’m afraid I would be very ignorant without it. But there is also too much of a good thing and when it come to productivity and being able to sustain attention–I think overall the net has had a negative impact for me in that area.

    • la redactora permalink
      October 30, 2012 9:59 pm

      I’m embarrassed by the low quality of my comment but it probably proves my point ;-). I have thought further on this and it is not simply a matter of increased ignorance. Without the internet and all I have learned on it I’m certain my life choices would have been significantly worse. There is a possibility I would be dead.

  3. October 31, 2012 5:13 am

    The internet has connected me more globally made it easier to learn things

  4. November 8, 2012 2:33 pm

    The internet has given me a space to become the self I likely never would have otherwise (even if that self presents largely within its confines, and rarely without). I’m grateful for that. I’m grateful for the countless viewpoints I’ve encountered, types of people, lifestyles and perspectives I’ve become aware of as a result of cyberland. My real-life world is far less interesting and diverse in many ways, and unfortunately probably always will be.

  5. November 17, 2012 9:46 pm

    It got me out of that evil relationship. And if it had existed back when I needed it even more, it would have given me career advice that would have helped a very great deal.

  6. afitme permalink
    November 27, 2012 5:39 am

    It keeps me from feeling so alone. It has given me greater access to information, allowed me to increase my self expression, and given me insight into the way others think, for better or worse. It has also increased my aggravation factor too much, and it has, I think, helped create the partisian schisms that exist in today’s quite polarized society. It is too easy for like to find like and then not seek out other opinions; I go to great lengths to find the other side of issues but I fear not many do. I live in a rural area and the internet has been a godsend in allowing me the outreach my mind craves.

Leave a Reply

