Skip to content

“Too Proud To Prostitute”

March 14, 2013

“Too Proud to Prostitute,” read a sign I saw today held up by a “homeless” female youth. At first I didn’t read the sign. I was just glad I was far enough away from the stoplight to bother with them looking into my car. She was with two others, a male and another female. They didn’t seem like homeless or runaways, more like, “we are doing this for our college thesis.” What caught my attention was when she ran toward the truck in front of me and was responding to something and laughing with the trucks occupants. Then another car called her over. She was spunky and not stereotypically hungry (or dirty). When she made it back to her perch (she sat on an electrical box) and was turned to face the traffic again I could see the sign. Instantly, I was angered. What an indictment! What a smug fucking exploiting indictment!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2013 7:43 am

    As if a lack of pride were the only reason women and girls are being prostituted.

  2. karmarad permalink
    March 27, 2013 4:54 pm

    Thanks, I get this now. OK, she’d rather beg than prostitute herself (or, more likely, be prostituted). I suppose what it’s about is that she, a white girl with more resources than she revealed, put up a disingenuous, harmful sign.

    But – if only all prostituted women could put up this sign. If only they could say, no, I won’t carry on like this, I am too proud, too human, too dignified to go on. Help me, I am leaving this way of surviving.

    In a way, that’s what’s awful here, the white entitled girl appropriating the pain of the prostituted. I get that. Yet if only the prostituted could speak and say this.

    It is all so sad.

Leave a Reply

